![]() |
Too Far Under Basket for PC
In the regional tournament elimination game last Thursday the local team lost in overtime after a player control foul was called on the player who drove the lane and made the basket. In the local newspaper the coach of the losing team complained that the defender was too far under the basket to draw the Player Control foul. I know there is a "restricted" area under the basket where a PC should not be called at the Pro level but find no such restriction in my NFHS rule book. Assuming legal position was obtained by the defender would you call a PC foul in this situation?
|
Yes, a PC can be called there.
Also, even at the NBA level, this restricted area only applies to secondary defenders. The primary defender can draw a charge anywhere. |
Sounds like a coach who: 1)lost the game, and 2)doesn't know the rules, and 3)wants to blame the loss on someone besides himself or his players.
|
.
|
Quote:
|
[Sounds like a coach who: 1)lost the game, and 2)doesn't know the rules, and 3)wants to blame the loss on someone besides himself or his players.]
That was my impression as well. Both the coach and the reporter railed against the official for that call. Althought I did not see this particular game I have called PC fouls under the basket, and have heard "he was too far under." |
"Coach, that's an NBA rule. When you are coaching in the NBA, you'll get that call."
|
Quote:
Sounds like a coach who: 1)lost the game, and 2)doesn't know the rules, and 3)wants to blame the loss on someone besides himself or his players. ;) |
Cameron and rockyroad I am going to have to disagree with you
My perspective This is a coach that : 1) doesn't know the rules 2) doesn't know the rules 3) wants to blame the loss on someone besides himself or his players. 4) Cant teach his kid to stop and shoot a jump shot 5) Cant teach his kids to not foul 6) Blames the officials for one call when his kids did not have a turn over, did not miss a shot, did not miss a defensive assignment, did not miss a FT. 7) Is exemplary in NOT taking responsibility and shifting the blame. 8) does not Know how to lose with grace 9) Should not open his mouth when he doesnt know the rules... ---Did I mention doesnt know the rules? ---wants to blame the loss on someone besides himself or his players.? --OH I forgot He lost the game... |
Quote:
10) All of the above |
Quote:
|
Something similar to this USED to be the rule in the womens college game, but thank God they deleted it.
|
I have had no fewer than 3-4 coaches argue this call this year alone!!! Last year was about as bad. Frustrating I tell ya'. "Coach he has a legal position on the floor" is about all I can muster at this point.
|
If you are under the basket that you are supposed to be defending, can you really be playing defense?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
While in FIBA rules you can take a charge when standing directly under the basket, I have been told by several rules intrepeters that this should very rarely be called. The thinking is that if the player has released the ball, and the defender is standing right under the bucket, then there isn't any advantage/disadvantage, therefore no call. To be honest, I'm still unable to make up my mind whether I agree with this interpretation or not.....:confused:
|
Quote:
I missed a NOT! Whoops |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
WTF does it matter? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
I guess i'm too new at this>
Quote:
|
Quote:
W&S: The answer to your question is an unqualified yes. Your next question should be why? The answer to that question is: When A1 goes airborne, he should be able to go airborne and return to the floor without making illegal contact with B1 who had a legal position on the floor before A1 went airborne. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Hawkeye: That's cold, but I like it. :D MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes If you are under the basket that you are supposed to be defending, can you really be playing defense? I see players there all the time while defending throw-ins, for example. http://www.portigal.com/wp/wp-conten.../tap-dance.jpg |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57am. |