The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
Rule 6-3 art 7

Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:17am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
Bug, just read the next article (6-3-8) and it answers your question.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
My rule book does not have art 8
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:26am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
You're probably using last year's book. Just read the end of 6-3-7.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 99
Yes it is last years book, the way it reads it is YES?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:36am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
Bug, just read the rule. It's not hidden in code or something. When do the restrictions end?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Allow me to simply the question for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?
There I took out the part that does not matter.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?
Bug,

Yes,
I hope Scrapper does a better job of quickly answering a waitress (or waiter?) then he does answering your questions!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Flip A Coin, Please ...

Neither jumper shall:
a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.
b. Leave the center restraining circle until the ball has been touched.
c. Catch the jump ball.
d. Touch the ball more than twice.
The jump ball and these restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, the floor, a basket or backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
So, here's another guy who was criticizing D-1 officials earlier this week, yet he doesn't know when a jumper can grab the basketball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 07:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
So, here's another guy who was criticizing D-1 officials earlier this week, yet he doesn't know when a jumper can grab the basketball.
They're at the stage where they don't know enough to know that they don't know enough.

Time will tell if they lose the fanboy mentality and develop into officials. If they don't, we don't need 'em.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 08:41am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
They're at the stage where they don't know enough to know that they don't know enough.
That's exactly why I wouldn't just give him the answer. He obviously had the rule in front of him. He needed to think it through, and realize what he didn't know, instead of just having it handed to him.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle
Bug,

Yes,
I hope Scrapper does a better job of quickly answering a waitress (or waiter?) then he does answering your questions!
Wait person.
Server.
Front of the house staff.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis Mo
Posts: 16
Just show some love to these people
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornhole21
Just show some love to these people
For what? A question was asked. A rule was given for the OP reading pleasure(can't help if comprehension is lacking) you can read it for yourself and then you still what someone to spoon feed it to you. Around here the response was a mild way of showing some love.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1