The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule 6-3 art 7 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42498-rule-6-3-art-7-a.html)

secondregionbug Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:12am

Rule 6-3 art 7
 
Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:17am

Bug, just read the next article (6-3-8) and it answers your question.

secondregionbug Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:23am

My rule book does not have art 8

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:26am

You're probably using last year's book. Just read the end of 6-3-7.

secondregionbug Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:34am

Yes it is last years book, the way it reads it is YES?

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:36am

Bug, just read the rule. It's not hidden in code or something. When do the restrictions end?

secondregionbug Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:46pm

It said when the ball hits the floor but it was not clear because it said the 8 non jumpers, remember I was raised in Tn and only have a 7th grade education........Not to smart but very good lookin.........

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?

And when do the restrictions on the jumpers end?

Quote:

It said when the ball hits the floor
So the answer to your original question is. . . ?

Dan_ref Thu Mar 06, 2008 01:01pm

Don't take it personally Bug, every March Scrappy gets even more annoying than usual.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 06, 2008 01:01pm

Allow me to simply the question for you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can a jumper get the ball after it <strike>is touched by the other jumper after it</strike> hits the floor?

There I took out the part that does not matter.

Loudwhistle Thu Mar 06, 2008 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can a jumper get the ball after it is touched by the other jumper after it hits the floor?

Bug,

Yes,
I hope Scrapper does a better job of quickly answering a waitress (or waiter?) then he does answering your questions!:D

BillyMac Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:15pm

Flip A Coin, Please ...
 
Neither jumper shall:
a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.
b. Leave the center restraining circle until the ball has been touched.
c. Catch the jump ball.
d. Touch the ball more than twice.
The jump ball and these restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, the floor, a basket or backboard.

BktBallRef Fri Mar 07, 2008 07:52am

So, here's another guy who was criticizing D-1 officials earlier this week, yet he doesn't know when a jumper can grab the basketball. :rolleyes:

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 07, 2008 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
So, here's another guy who was criticizing D-1 officials earlier this week, yet he doesn't know when a jumper can grab the basketball. :rolleyes:

They're at the stage where they don't know enough to know that they don't know enough.

Time will tell if they lose the fanboy mentality and develop into officials. If they don't, we don't need 'em.

Scrapper1 Fri Mar 07, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
They're at the stage where they don't know enough to know that they don't know enough.

That's exactly why I wouldn't just give him the answer. He obviously had the rule in front of him. He needed to think it through, and realize what he didn't know, instead of just having it handed to him.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1