![]() |
KU vs. TTech paly (Travel or Not)
I saw a play in the KU/Texas Tech game that I thought would be whistle as a travel but wasn't. Here is my description -
Loose ball bouncing toward KU bench, K1 dives, secures the ball and slides. He went from side to tuchus on the dive, then passed the ball to a teammate. The bouncing ball was bouncing knee high or so. I thought K1 secured a ball that wasn't on the floor, then essentially went to the floor and slid (travelled). Had the ball been rolling, I would have agreed with the official (no travel). Is this mere judgement or am I missing something? |
Depends when he gained posession of the ball
As far as I know...it all depends on when he gained control of the ball. If he gained control before diving and then dove..Travel.... If he gained control AS HE WAS FALLING...then he is allowed to fall and slide as much as his momentum takes him....
As to him turning it also depends what he was actually doing and what his momentum was doing. If he fell then turned..Travell. If he was turning as he was falling and once again it was just a continuation due to momemntum then it is fine. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now that I have the case plays - A.R. 103.(3) Reads "Gains control of the ball while on the playing court". I presume "on the playing court" is direct at the player. Therefore diving for a bouncing ball and securing in the air would likely be a travel. Am I correct in my understanding of this sitch. ( I don't care about the play even though TTech might have won if they only got a few calls :)) Am I correct? |
Quote:
IMO, a player who secures the ball while in the air and then lands and slides has traveled. The location of the ball when this person secured it is not relevant. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06pm. |