The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
What if A is in the bonus or double bonus? Then what?
A shoots free throws.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
What if A is in the bonus or double bonus? Then what?
Then the player on team A that was fouled would shoot freethrow(s).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
If B fouls, A keeps the ball at the spot of the foul for all of the above. If the shooting motion has started prior to the foul, the basket counts, whether the shot was released prior to the foul or not.


Better?
Much.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Can you come up with any scenario where a basket would count if the shot was not released?
Nope, and that was my point. The only way his post makes sense is if you infer the words he obviously left unsaid.

BTW, when did Mr. Grammar guy retire and who appointed you?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 01:35am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
It does not have to be a legal try for basket intreference to occur, i.e., ball bounces off floor, throwin, wrong basket, ball bounces off someones head, etc.
I don't think you can have BI or even goaltending at a wrong basket because the attempt is not a legal attempt.


EDIT...

Well, reading Rules By Topic I change my thinking on BI. Pretty sure I am correct in regards to goal tending though. The one that made me change is on an inbounds play, If A is inbounding it is a violation for A to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds. However if A throws the ball towards the basket and it is above cylinder and B touches the ball it is BI and two points are awarded. (Rules By Topic p. 138, 9.11.2 Sitch C)
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me

Last edited by w_sohl; Fri Feb 29, 2008 at 01:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 162
If A1 is shooting, and B1 fouls by pushing through a screen and knocks A2 into A1 during the shot. Basket goes in. And is it the same if the shot is missed? Does A1 shoot fts or is ball taken at out location for team a.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 03:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpbreeze
If A1 is shooting, and B1 fouls by pushing through a screen and knocks A2 into A1 during the shot. Basket goes in. And is it the same if the shot is missed? Does A1 shoot fts or is ball taken at out location for team a.
Ask yourself this question:
Whom did B1 foul? In this case, B1 did not touch A1, he fouled A2.
If A1's shooting motion had started prior to the foul, you would count the basket. If not, you wouldn't, because the ball became dead on the foul.
If A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot the appropriate free throws. If no, A gets the ball for a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 07:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,253
Correct ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl
Well, reading Rules By Topic I change my thinking on BI. Pretty sure I am correct in regards to goal tending though. The one that made me change is on an inbounds play, If A is inbounding it is a violation for A to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds. However if A throws the ball towards the basket and it is above cylinder and B touches the ball it is BI and two points are awarded. (Rules By Topic p. 138, 9.11.2 Sitch C)
I believe that you are correct about goaltending, but I don't believe that I mentioned goaltending at a wrong basket?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul by offense after a made basket... Reffing Rev. Basketball 3 Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:10am
Off ball foul on made basket (NCAA) Fan10 Basketball 2 Sun Dec 02, 2007 03:37pm
foul on made basket question roadking Basketball 3 Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:44pm
Double Foul after a made basket Dewey1 Basketball 1 Sun Jan 13, 2002 01:52pm
Made basket on intentional foul kschau Basketball 2 Sat Dec 09, 2000 10:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1