The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   location, foul on non-shooter, basket made (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42297-location-foul-non-shooter-basket-made.html)

just another ref Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
What if A is in the bonus or double bonus? Then what?

A shoots free throws.

Indianaref Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
What if A is in the bonus or double bonus? Then what?

Then the player on team A that was fouled would shoot freethrow(s).

M&M Guy Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
If B fouls, A keeps the ball at the spot of the foul for all of the above. If the shooting motion has started prior to the foul, the basket counts, whether the shot was released prior to the foul or not.


Better?

Much. :)

Adam Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Can you come up with any scenario where a basket would count if the shot was not released?

Nope, and that was my point. The only way his post makes sense is if you infer the words he obviously left unsaid.

BTW, when did Mr. Grammar guy retire and who appointed you?

w_sohl Fri Feb 29, 2008 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
It does not have to be a legal try for basket intreference to occur, i.e., ball bounces off floor, throwin, wrong basket, ball bounces off someones head, etc.

I don't think you can have BI or even goaltending at a wrong basket because the attempt is not a legal attempt.


EDIT...

Well, reading Rules By Topic I change my thinking on BI. Pretty sure I am correct in regards to goal tending though. The one that made me change is on an inbounds play, If A is inbounding it is a violation for A to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds. However if A throws the ball towards the basket and it is above cylinder and B touches the ball it is BI and two points are awarded. (Rules By Topic p. 138, 9.11.2 Sitch C)

lpbreeze Fri Feb 29, 2008 03:26pm

If A1 is shooting, and B1 fouls by pushing through a screen and knocks A2 into A1 during the shot. Basket goes in. And is it the same if the shot is missed? Does A1 shoot fts or is ball taken at out location for team a.

Adam Fri Feb 29, 2008 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpbreeze
If A1 is shooting, and B1 fouls by pushing through a screen and knocks A2 into A1 during the shot. Basket goes in. And is it the same if the shot is missed? Does A1 shoot fts or is ball taken at out location for team a.

Ask yourself this question:
Whom did B1 foul? In this case, B1 did not touch A1, he fouled A2.
If A1's shooting motion had started prior to the foul, you would count the basket. If not, you wouldn't, because the ball became dead on the foul.
If A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot the appropriate free throws. If no, A gets the ball for a throwin.

BillyMac Fri Feb 29, 2008 07:13pm

Correct ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by w_sohl
Well, reading Rules By Topic I change my thinking on BI. Pretty sure I am correct in regards to goal tending though. The one that made me change is on an inbounds play, If A is inbounding it is a violation for A to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds. However if A throws the ball towards the basket and it is above cylinder and B touches the ball it is BI and two points are awarded. (Rules By Topic p. 138, 9.11.2 Sitch C)

I believe that you are correct about goaltending, but I don't believe that I mentioned goaltending at a wrong basket?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1