The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Len Elmore STFU Please (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42292-len-elmore-stfu-please.html)

Snake~eyes Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:02pm

Len Elmore STFU Please
 
"Only the ball must pass the half court line to end the 10 second count."

Snake~eyes Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:05pm

He's reading from the rulebook and he still can't figure it out. And the other idiot Pat or something is so confused he has no clue what's going on.

And now the sideline commentator is making fun of the idiots for not being able to figure it out.

BktBallRef Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:05pm

It was a BC violation.

They missed it.

And 5 minutes later, the TV idiots are still arguing.

JHamp Thu Feb 28, 2008 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
It was a BC violation.

I'm not sure if your referring to the same play or not but the one they were arguing about was when Paulus was dribbling, both feet went into the fc, but he remained dribbling in the bc. How is this a bc violation??

mj Thu Feb 28, 2008 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JHamp
I'm not sure if your referring to the same play or not but the one they were arguing about was when Paulus was dribbling, both feet went into the fc, but he remained dribbling in the bc. How is this a bc violation??

He did dribble once in the bc. Then he picked up his dribble. That gives him fc status. He then pivoted in the bc.

The talking heads couldn't decide whether it was a violation 5 minutes later, yet they chided the official for the call/no call that he has to rule on in a split second. :rolleyes:

JHamp Thu Feb 28, 2008 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj
He did dribble once in the bc. Then he picked up his dribble. That gives him fc status. He then pivoted in the bc.

The talking heads couldn't decide whether it was a violation 5 minutes later, yet they chided the official for the call/no call that he has to rule on in a split second. :rolleyes:

I must have saw a different play. The play I was referring to Paulus never pick up his dribble. Thanks for the info.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 28, 2008 09:05am

I'm guessing that Mr. Len Elmore is a commentator. Can someone tell me which network he is on?

Nevadaref Thu Feb 28, 2008 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
I'm guessing that Mr. Len Elmore is a commentator. Can someone tell me which network he is on?

Harvard TV.

Cajun Reff Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Harvard TV.


bwahahaha :D

WIRef Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:46am

I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.

Scrapper1 Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:26am

Hey Lenny!!

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/graphic...11061stfu1.jpg

Back In The Saddle Thu Feb 28, 2008 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.

That's what I saw. Lenny ain't too bright. ;)

Mark Padgett Thu Feb 28, 2008 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
"Only the ball must pass the half court line to end the 10 second count."

Yeah, and only the ball must enter the basket for points to be scored.

Oh, wait a minute. :o

JoeTheRef Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.

Is this play online somewhere? I was sitting at a sports bar eating my wings when I saw that highlight from a distance, only once. I immediately thought it was a backcourt violation. Me being a Georgia resident and Tech fan, and a DUKE hater, I may have been quick to judge.

With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.

gslefeb Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:33pm

Foot on Division line?
 
Here is how I say the play

1. Dribbling up court, both feet in front court (or was one foot on the division line?) and ball in back court

2. Picks up dribble. Thus all three are now in front court (unless Pivot foot was on division line)

3. Pivots into backcourt. The pivot foot is on the division line. Other foot clearly goes into back court.

4. Pass made.

So it depends if the pivot was on the division line in #1 above.

just another ref Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.

What I saw (several times) was both feet crossed into FC. Last dribble was in BC. He picked up the dribble, then pivoted and stepped into BC, then passed.
I saw it as a violation, but it happened very quickly and was an easy one to miss.

just another ref Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb

2. Picks up dribble. Thus all three are now in front court (unless Pivot foot was on division line)

This is the only thing I see wrong with your description. When he picks up the dribble, three points is no longer a consideration. The only question is whether his pivot foot was touching the division line. I agree that it was not when the dribble ended, but it may have touched when he pivoted. I don't think that there was any doubt that the other foot touched in BC well before he released the pass.

gslefeb Thu Feb 28, 2008 02:50pm

just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.

just another ref Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb
just another ref:

Correct regarding point #2.

The only way (IMO) that it is a no call is IF the foot was always touching the division line.


agree

BktBallRef Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:01pm

Just now getting back to this thread.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JHamp
I'm not sure if your referring to the same play or not but the one they were arguing about was when Paulus was dribbling, both feet went into the fc, but he remained dribbling in the bc. How is this a bc violation??

Both feet were in the FC.

He last dribled the ball in the BC.

He then caught the ball while standing with both feet still in the FC.

He then stepped into the BC.

BC violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.

That would be incorrect. When he ended his dribble by catching the ball, both feet were in the FC. The ball is now in the FC. He then stepped into the BC.

BktBallRef Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:06pm

BTW, I only watched the game for about 5 minutes but they missed another call that really surprised me.

Gerald Henderson jumped to save the ball from going OOB. His right foot made contact with the press table. Pretty obvious I thought. He then passed the ball to a teammate. Mike Wood was standing 10' away but missed it.

JHamp Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
BTW, I only watched the game for about 5 minutes but they missed another call that really surprised me.

Gerald Henderson jumped to save the ball from going OOB. His right foot made contact with the press table. Pretty obvious I thought. He then passed the ball to a teammate. Mike Wood was standing 10' away but missed it.

I completely agree. I saw that live, at game speed, with a bad camera angle, I'm not sure how the official missed it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1