The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 08:56am
Official Forum Member

I dont get College reffing

I watch too much college basketball. Maybe I am ignorant. Maybe I am a poor back seat referee. I feel that the college game is being called more and more like the pro game. Last nights Tennessee - Vandy game was a perfect example. Full body contact overlooked and touch fouls on top being called. Travels inside the lane where big men shuffled their feet prior to shooting, no call. On two occasions, the big man shuffled, got his defender to leave his feet, drew contact and got two shots. If I were a college coach I'm afraid I'd be T'd up every game (one reason why I'm not a college coach). Not saying all college reffing is bad. It just seems that the college game is getting watered down like the pros. I hope I am wrong.
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
I do not agree with your point. Some of the huge games in recent weeks have been worked by the "big time" guys. Guys that have definitely earned the right to work those games.

I do not believe that the college game is being watered to match the NBA game by any stretch. The games in recent weeks have been hard fought between bitter rivals where no one wants to lose especially when it comes to your in state rivals (i.e Memphis-Tenn or Tenn-Vanderbilt).

Almost all of officiating has to due with angles. If you cannot get this best angle or the correct angle, then that does affect 100% what the official is able to see or not able to see which then determines the call to be made or not made.
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 02:37pm
We don't rent pigs

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski