The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T/F Travelling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42012-t-f-travelling.html)

Snake~eyes Mon Feb 18, 2008 05:49pm

T/F Travelling
 
1) Travelling cannot be called without team control.

2) A player must have control of the ball to be called for travelling.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 18, 2008 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
1) Travelling cannot be called without team control.

2) A player must have control of the ball to be called for travelling.


Snake Eyes:

It is too early in the morning for a question like No. 1. But No. 2 is T.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 19, 2008 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Snake Eyes:

It is too early in the morning for a question like No. 1. But No. 2 is T.

MTD, Sr.

If #2 is T, then #1 must also be T, since you can't have TC without first having PC.

SamIAm Tue Feb 19, 2008 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
1) Travelling cannot be called without team control.

2) A player must have control of the ball to be called for travelling.

Concerning 2) - A1 gains possesion while laying on the court, releases the ball, stands up, then picks the ball up. Travel. The travel is called when A1 has the ball, but the travelling action occurrs with A1 not having possession of the ball.

rainmaker Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Concerning 2) - A1 gains possesion while laying on the court, releases the ball, stands up, then picks the ball up. Travel. The travel is called when A1 has the ball, but the travelling action occurrs with A1 not having possession of the ball.

Possession and control are two different things.

SamIAm Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Possession and control are two different things.

Rule reference please.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 19, 2008 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Concerning 2) - A1 gains possesion while laying on the court, releases the ball, stands up, then picks the ball up. Travel. The travel is called when A1 has the ball, but the travelling action occurrs with A1 not having possession of the ball.

In fact, A1 can not travel unless they're holding the ball with the exception of this one situation.

SamIAm Tue Feb 19, 2008 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
In fact, A1 can not travel unless they're holding the ball with the exception of this one situation.


#13 Thu Oct 20, 2005, 08:39am
SamIAm
Registered User Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 425

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefLarry
Originally posted by RefLarry
#53. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot and then throws the ball toward A-2.A-2 does not see the thrown ball. After the ball hits the floor,A-1 is the first to touch the ball.Official rules this is an illegal start of a dribble.Is the official correct?

Certainly seems like some kind of violation but "an illegal start of a dribble."? Same as double dribble in anybody's opinion? Wording seems tricky to me.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Presuming that A-1 has already used their dribble, this is an illegal start of a dribble. I was educated to this fact by NevadaRef during a discussion about the way to travel without the ball, there is only one.

I don't think this will display very nicely, but for amusement I searched for an old post on this same topic, seemingly one that appears every year, several times.

I agree with you Mr. Rust.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1