![]() |
Blew a time out call
Team A bringing ball up court with no pressure and B coach jumps up and wants a Time out. I blow my whistle and as soon as I did I realized team A had the ball. I went through and gave B their Time out but could I have just gone with an inadvertant whistle. I knew immedietely before I granted the Time out I was wrong. :eek:
Comments |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
That is one of the reasons that I always pause before granting a timeout just to make sure its the team with the ball asking for one. I have had coaches try this several times and pausing usually helps!!!! It has happened to everyone....live and learn.
|
Pausing is ideal but sometimes not realistic. On a loose ball where you have a scrum, both coaching acting like the sky is falling while requesting a time out and leaving yoou to decide.
I have however, done exactly what you said. I went with IW, then asked B coach if they still wanted the T.O. which they did, thankfully. What if youo went with the IW and then the coach said no thanks I don't need T.O. now???? |
Quote:
So I don't see why pausing is an issue at all there. Let someone get control, determine their team wants the TO, and then grant it. |
yes and while your pausing after control has been established, 3 more kids pile on knocking the ball loose
|
Quote:
That was a POE a few years ago. |
Quote:
Same as if I verify a coach wants a TO after a made basket, but by the time I blow my whistle the other team is already inbounding the ball - the TO was actually granted before the team had the ball at its disposal, my whistle was just late. |
Can FIBA, or "Feeble", Possibly Be Better ???
Quote:
I understand that FIBA rules are even more restrictive, and make the official's job even easier to grant timeouts. |
Last night, I'm watching a V first round playoff game. A1 misses a shot, ball batted around, scrum for the loose ball, B1 comes up with it and goes the other way. A2 is sprawled on the floor under A's basket. B moves down floor and is into running it's offense 5 on 4. A2 limps by Trail still in the backcourt and says something to him. Trail immediately calls timeout....B coach goes nuts! He seemed to be saying - How can you call a timeout when I have the ball and am moving in for a shot? You can't do that! That's wrong! What's your reasoning?
A2 limps off and is replaced. T and C meet at halfcourt......I woulda like to have heard that conversation....... Ball put back in play by B, under B's basket - where it was at POI. |
Quote:
It has nothing to do with a timeout, but I hope everyone paid attention to what Jurassic said. If one player is on the floor and someone jumps on him to tie the ball up that isn't a held ball, it is a foul. This play is overlooked too often - probably because it isn't a popular call. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31am. |