The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tennessee--Rutgers ending--Women's Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41828-tennessee-rutgers-ending-womens-game.html)

Dan_ref Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Dan has plenty of hair follicles in his head. It's the ones <b>on</b> his head that are missing.

Just saying.....

Shut up.

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:28am

http://scarletknights.com/news/release.asp?prID=6154

This article obviously debunks the assertion by the Times that the table @ Tennessee had no way to stop the clock.

It also implies that it is unlikely that one of the officials stopped the clock by pushing the button on the pack then starting it again by pushing the button again.

It certainly leads the reader to believe that the mistake must have come from the table, I.E the timer getting caught up in the moment and either anticipating a call or just flat out goofed. Either way it looks like this clock malfunction isn't a malfunction just the timer stopping starting the clock.

What stands out to me the most in this release is that they agree there was a foul but the foul happened after time had expired. Even so they fail to mention that if the Rutgers player would've never fouled then the shot by the Tennessee player, if it went in, would've been reviewed @ the monitor and more then likely would've not counted since she was clearly holding the ball with .2 left.

The Rutgers player didn't know that time had expired! Why pull the player down and commit a foul that would have to be called.

This whole situation is unfortunate for all parties involved. The Rutgers AD tries to pass some of the blame onto the officials for not reconstructing the play with a stop watch. The only time you reconstruct the play with a stop watch is if you have knowledge of a timing mistake.

I agree that there obviously is a timing mistake and that the foul happened after the expiration of time. I just can't IMO, fault the officials if they had no knowledge of the timing error. If they knew then the 2 who were @ the Monitor would've reconstructed the play. Those two officials are @ the top of the Women's game and have been on more big games then most. Therefore I have to believe that they had no idea that there was a timing error.

I would venture to guess that from this game and this play that there will be a change in our court-side monitor procedure.

M&M Guy Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7
Also, consider this -- anything 0.3 and under has to be a tap for goal or otherwise disregarded -- when that foul was sounded, did the Tennessee player:

A) Have the ball in her hands or B) Did she release it?

If she released it and the ball goes through, even with the clock stopped at 0.2, that shot would be waved off being that you CANNOT have a shot at that time on the clock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Even so they fail to mention that if the Rutgers player would've never fouled then the shot by the Tennessee player, if it went in, would've been reviewed @ the monitor and more then likely would've not counted since she was clearly holding the ball with .2 left.

I'm not sure where these thoughts are coming from, as the rule involving not being able to shoot with 0.3 seconds left or less has to do <B>only</B> with a throw-in or FT (5-2-5). In other words, during a situation where the clock is already (legally) stopped for a throw-in or FT, the rule says you cannot "catch-and-shoot" with 0.3 sec. or less, you can only tap the ball in that amount of time.

Otherwise, during a live ball situation, the only requirement is that the ball be "clearly in flight" on a try or tap before the horn sounds. (5-6-2, exception 1).

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I'm not sure where these thoughts are coming from, as the rule involving not being able to shoot with 0.3 seconds left or less has to do <B>only</B> with a throw-in or FT (5-2-5). In other words, during a situation where the clock is already (legally) stopped for a throw-in or FT, the rule says you cannot "catch-and-shoot" with 0.3 sec. or less, you can only tap the ball in that amount of time.

Otherwise, during a live ball situation, the only requirement is that the ball be "clearly in flight" on a try or tap before the horn sounds. (5-6-2, exception 1).

I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.

Because there is no such rule. Additinally, there is not even a suggestion that a player holding the ball can't get a shot off in 0.2. The rule you're referring to says they can't catch-hold-shoot in 0.3. You've got the player starting the catch at 0.4. How long does the catch take? Apparently, it can be short enough that from 0.4 to 0.0, there is time to shoot. You can't subdivide the 0.4 to say that any particular part of the action has to occur at a specific time.

M&M Guy Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
I realize what you are saying...but if a player can't catch and shoot with .3 left after a dead ball what makes you think the player can catch an shoot with .2. My point is that more then likly she wouldn't have got the ball off in time. Time is time, in the replay she is clearly holding the ball with .2.

What rule would you use to dis-allow the basket?

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
What rule would you use to dis-allow the basket?

Again I didn't say by rule that you would automatically disallow the basket. I said more then likely in this play the basket wouldn't have been good. The TP is holding the ball on the floor with .2 on the clock. Either way if there wasn't a foul they would've been required by rule to go to the monitor if the basket was good in this play to either count or cancel.

M&M Guy Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Again I didn't say by rule that you would automatically disallow the basket. I said more then likely in this play the basket wouldn't have been good. The TP is holding the ball on the floor with .2 on the clock. Either way if there wasn't a foul they would've been required by rule to go to the monitor if the basket was good in this play to either count or cancel.

I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.

Dude....I know! I didn't say that they would be looking to see if the player was holding the ball. They would like, you said, be checking to see if it was in flight before 000's on the clock.

My point was that its just unlikly that if she is holding the ball on the floor with .2 that she's not getting the ball off before triple 000's. Thats all and nothing more.

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I agree, they should check the monitor. But they would not be looking at whether the player is still holding the ball at 0.2, they would check to see if the ball was "clearly in flight" at 0.0. Whether the player is holding the ball at 0.2 is completely irrelevent from the review.

Its not a matter if they should but by rule they MUST.

Blue37 Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:25pm

Take this to a no replay game.
 
Sorry I am late getting into the discussion but I do not have cable and just heard about the ending. I am not a basketball official but read the board regularly and have been intrigued by the discussions regarding timing errors in NFHS games. Assume this had been a NFHS game. Are there any remedies?

Change the time line slightly. Assume the ball goes out-of-bounds with five seconds. It is inbounded and the official verifies the clock started appropriately. The ball is passed and a shot goes up. It misses and the ball is tipped a couple of times, then rebounded and a shot is made as the horn sounds. The losing (visiting) coach alleges the clock stopped. The timer admits he twitched and accidentally hit the off switch but turned it back on immediately. Any remedies in this situation? What if the timer said it had been off for a couple of seconds? What if an official had been counting just in case of a malfunction? How accurate does the official's count need to be? If the official hit five just before the shot, should he trust his timing and wave off the basket?

Thanks for educating a fan!

M&M Guy Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Dude....I know! I didn't say that they would be looking to see if the player was holding the ball. They would like, you said, be checking to see if it was in flight before 000's on the clock.

My point was that its just unlikly that if she is holding the ball on the floor with .2 that she's not getting the ball off before triple 000's. Thats all and nothing more.

Dude...ok! :)

I was just trying to clarify, because both you and Referee24.7 seemed to imply by rule the basket shouldn't count because the player was still holding it at 0.2. As it turns out, we agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Its not a matter if they should but by rule they MUST.

Shall...should...must..., I think all these are pretty close to the same, and still different than may...possibly...perhaps...

truerookie Wed Feb 13, 2008 07:10pm

[quote=Gimlet25id] Those two officials are @ the top of the Women's game and have been on more big games then most. Therefore I have to believe that they had no idea that there was a timing error.

If the aforementioned is true, IMO, it should not have been a timing error at all!!

Gimlet25id Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
If the aforementioned is true, IMO, it should not have been a timing error at all!!

Your kidding right? I mean you've got to be joking! Are you saying that their not? How in the world can you say that the timing mistake is on them? Oh...wait a minute...I remember you think that "C's" sole responsibility is to make sure the running clock doesn't......

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
I disagree, it's the C responsibility to ensure things go properly with the clock.

(2). The point I'm trying to make is this. If the C was monitoring the clock and observed that the clock STARTED; STOPPED; STARTED; STOPPED again; then we have a foul he/she have definite knowledge that the game should be over before the foul occurred. Game over!!

So if "C" would've been doing what you suggested then maybe, just maybe they would've caught that the running clock stopped, started, then ran out. So while "C" is doing this then who is watching to see if the shot is good or not? While center is eyeballing the clock who is referring "C's" area?

It's a good thing then, from your above quote, that you don't have anything to do with who is/isn't @ the top!! IMO!

truerookie Thu Feb 14, 2008 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Your kidding right? I mean you've got to be joking! Are you saying that their not? How in the world can you say that the timing mistake is on them? Oh...wait a minute...I remember you think that "C's" sole responsibility is to make sure the running clock doesn't......



So if "C" would've been doing what you suggested then maybe, just maybe they would've caught that the running clock stopped, started, then ran out. So while "C" is doing this then who is watching to see if the shot is good or not? While center is eyeballing the clock who is referring "C's" area?

It's a good thing then, from your above quote, that you don't have anything to do with who is/isn't @ the top!! IMO!

Look Gim, is it ok if I call you Gim? Look we have both spoken and given our perspectives on the play. I'm moving on.

johnSandlin Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:10am

I look at it this way, until any of us are in that situation, we can sit here until we are blue in the face, saying the officials could have done this and should have done this.

However, I say until we are put into that situation this officiating crew were involved with, we will never know or say for sure how will or should have handle the situation.

rainmaker Thu Feb 14, 2008 01:15pm

None of this argument about whether or not the shot should be allowed speaks to the issue of the clock "pausing" for a fairly long time at .2 seconds. It appears the refs either didn't know that this happened, didn't notice it in the replays, or didn't feel authorized to address it. I'd be interested in hearing whether there are rules in the NCAA set that speak to this particular issue.

johnSandlin Thu Feb 14, 2008 02:01pm

rainmaker,

Under NCAA Rule 2, Section 13, Articles 2 & 3. items 1-4 in art 2, and items A-C in art 3 deal and talk about what the officials can do when they use the replay monitor to what they can and cannot look for and rule on.

Gimlet25id Thu Feb 14, 2008 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
None of this argument about whether or not the shot should be allowed speaks to the issue of the clock "pausing" for a fairly long time at .2 seconds. It appears the refs either didn't know that this happened, didn't notice it in the replays, or didn't feel authorized to address it. I'd be interested in hearing whether there are rules in the NCAA set that speak to this particular issue.

Somehow we got off on this side note of rather a held ball could count with .2 left. That really wasn't the original discussion. If you get the chance read back aways.

The NCAA rules do have provisions that would allow the officials to use the monitor and reconstruct the play while using a stop watch in timing error situations.

My contention all along like you hinted, is that they didn't know there was an error. If they didn't know they had a timing error then the "R" wouldn't have any reason to look for one in addition to the play he was asking for.

I would almost guarantee that this particular situation is going to initiate changes in the NCAA court side monitor procedures. For example maybe requiring that when you go to the monitor that you should look @ so much time before the play @ game speed while checking the in question play as well as timing issue's. Doing this before looking @ the play in question in a frame by frame mode.

Back In The Saddle Thu Feb 14, 2008 06:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin
I look at it this way, until any of us are in that situation, we can sit here until we are blue in the face, saying the officials could have done this and should have done this.

However, I say until we are put into that situation this officiating crew were involved with, we will never know or say for sure how will or should have handle the situation.

But there is value in considering what we would do in their place. What happens to the odd big dog or two on national television, is just as likely to happen to one or two of us at some point. And dissecting their mishaps may give us the leg up on them if it ever happens to us.

Mark Dexter Thu Feb 14, 2008 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnSandlin
rainmaker,

Under NCAA Rule 2, Section 13, Articles 2 & 3. items 1-4 in art 2, and items A-C in art 3 deal and talk about what the officials can do when they use the replay monitor to what they can and cannot look for and rule on.

I would argue that what happened in the UT-Rutgers game is reviewable under both 2-13.2(c) 1 and 2

JRutledge Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:13pm

The reason I created this thread was not make it very clear this could happen to any of us. I personally feel the officials did not do their job the best way by in following the rules that were at their disposal. Of course hindsight is 20/20, but this is the kind of thing that gets many officials in a lot of trouble. And yes, what the media thinks factors in how policy is enforced and there are many examples of this every year when an officiating mistake is discovered and suspensions and fines are enforced.

It is just interesting of all the directions this discussion has taken.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1