The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation - Still Struggling.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41751-backcourt-violation-still-struggling.html)

ca_rumperee Sat Feb 09, 2008 09:10pm

Backcourt Violation - Still Struggling....
 
Quote:

Section 9: Backcourt
Article 1.
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Article 2.
While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt.
Article 3.
A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
Those are the rules.




Quote:

SITUATION 7: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1's deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/ control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)
Why is this a violation? I understand that the throw-in has ended. But it seems like we have a player (WHO IS A DEFENSIVE PLAYER WHOSE TEAM DOES NOT HAVE TEAM CONTROL) being called for a violation, when 9.3.3 states:
Quote:

Article 3.

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
I know this has been covered ad nauseum on this forum, but after getting my a$$ kicked by Yerasskicked Referee again today it exposes me as confused about this.

Is B2 NOT a defensive player?

BktBallRef Sat Feb 09, 2008 09:17pm

There's no better answer than there was when the interp was published in October.

Back In The Saddle Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:09pm

Just what BktBallRef said.

It's like when you whistle a foul, and immediately afterward you realize that you just pooched it, but now you're committed and have to go with it anyway.

The rules committee did one of those with this interp.

I fully expect that next season the committee will offer up the equivalent of a, "You're right, coach, I kicked that one." ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1