The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10-second rule reset...? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41660-10-second-rule-reset.html)

PSidbury Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:42pm

10-second rule reset...?
 
NFHS Basketball Case Book: 9.8.C (page 71).

So, if team A is in their backcourt and nine seconds into their 10-second rule and they call a timeout. If they inbound into the backcourt, a new 10-seconds starts?

Per the situation in case book, even if the A player, while in his backcourt, intentionally threw the ball off B's body to make it go out of bounds, a new 10-seconds begins upon A's subsequent throw-in to the backcourt, right?

Where in the Rules Book is this addressed? Can't find it.

Had a youth league coach (we use NFHS rules as foundation) get upset that I didn't continue the 10-second count from where I left off when ball was thrown off defender and out of bounds.

Thanks !

Texas Aggie Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:49pm

There's no team control during a throw in, so if there is a throw in for any reason as in resuming play after a time out, a 10 second backcourt count doesn't start until a team is in control of the ball in their backcourt. There's no resumption or continuation of the count. Read the specific 10 second rule under Rule 9. I don't have a book handy to reference the specific wording, which is also supported by various definitions in rule 4 like team control, player location, areas of the court, etc.

Adam Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:50pm

Read the rule about the 10 second violation, and think in light of the fact that team control ends when the ball becomes dead.

jdw3018 Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:51pm

There is no case in which a 10-second count is suspended and then restarted again at that point.

A 10-second count continues while the ball has backcourt status of a team in continuous team control. Team control ends with any dead ball and doesn't start again until the subsequent throw-in has ended and that team has established control again.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:51pm

Rule 9-8.

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 06, 2008 02:01pm

A violation occurs when a team has "continuous" control of the ball (has team control) in its backcourt for 10 seconds. Since we all know that team control ends on any dead ball, that team's control has not been "continuous", even if their throw-in goes into the backcourt.

eg-italy Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSidbury
Had a youth league coach (we use NFHS rules as foundation) get upset that I didn't continue the 10-second count from where I left off when ball was thrown off defender and out of bounds.

Was this coach from Europe? :) According to FIBA rules, the 8 second count would continue from where it was when the ball went OOB.

Ciao


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1