The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Q from 1st Year: Can a coach 'buy' a timeout? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41657-q-1st-year-can-coach-buy-timeout.html)

ca_rumperee Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:33pm

Q from 1st Year: Can a coach 'buy' a timeout?
 
Don't know why this is still unresolved in my cranium...

If a coach is out of timeouts... can he incur a team technical by calling timeout? I mean, is he granted the timeout? Full or 30?

jdw3018 Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:39pm

Yes, you should grant any TO requested by a coach or player.

In my opinion, you should give them whichever they request (30 or 60) though I've seen some argue that they have to have a 60.

Splute Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Don't know why this is still unresolved in my cranium...

If a coach is out of timeouts... can he incur a team technical by calling timeout? I mean, is he granted the timeout? Full or 30?

'06-07
<TABLE cellSpacing=4 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMdBld vAlign=top noWrap>10.1.7 Situation:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=left colSpan=4>A1 requests and Team A is granted a time-out late in the fourth quarter. Team A had already used its three 60-second time-outs and its two 30-second time-outs.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=right>Ruling:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>Team A is granted the time-out and is charged with a technical foul. No indirect foul is charged to the head coach.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top noWrap>


</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=center noWrap align=left>[See corresponding Rule Article for Situation 10.1.7]</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Mark Padgett Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:52pm

Yes, coaches can "buy" a timeout. I usually charge $25. Cash, of course.

budjones05 Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Yes, coaches can "buy" a timeout. I usually charge $25. Cash, of course.


WHAT I ONLY GET SOME COLD MCDONALDS!

Mark Padgett Wed Feb 06, 2008 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by budjones05
WHAT I ONLY GET SOME COLD MCDONALDS!

Last time I checked, Ronald's picture wasn't on any US bills. :confused:

Texas Aggie Wed Feb 06, 2008 04:10pm

Quote:

you should grant any TO requested by a coach or player.
Only when that team has control or the ball is dead (or other legal times they can request, if any). But you are correct if everything is fine except that they are simply out of time outs.

BillyMac Wed Feb 06, 2008 08:17pm

Lazy Tonight
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
Only when that team has control or the ball is dead (or other legal times they can request, if any). But you are correct if everything is fine except that they are simply out of time outs.

Keep in mind that consecutive time outs can't be called when there is no time left in the fourth period, or something like that, my rule book's in my bag, in the car, in the garage, and I'm too lazy, and it's too cold in the garage, for me to go downstairs and get the book.

IREFU2 Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Don't know why this is still unresolved in my cranium...

If a coach is out of timeouts... can he incur a team technical by calling timeout? I mean, is he granted the timeout? Full or 30?

I had this happen in a game the other night. The coach knew he was out of timeout and called one and my partner granted it. When I told my partner he didnt have anymore, he was issued a technical foul. Stupid move on the coaches part. I believe he was trying to pull a fast one!!!!

ca_rumperee Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:13pm

So it went like this...?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
I had this happen in a game the other night. The coach knew he was out of timeout and called one and my partner granted it. When I told my partner he didnt have anymore, he was issued a technical foul. Stupid move on the coaches part. I believe he was trying to pull a fast one!!!!

Grant time out.
Report time out.
Report team technical foul.
.... final jeopardy music here...
After teams return to the court:
Administer Technical Free Throws
Throw in at Division Line.

Would you take time to communicate with 'offended' team while they are in their huddle that the technical had been called, or let them complete and inform when returning to court? (assuming they were unaware of technical)

jdw3018 Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:17pm

Definitely inform the coach. He'll usually know almost immediately. Either way, I'm not waiting until after the TO for him to find out.

rockyroad Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:28pm

If we do our jobs correctly and inform the HC that they have used their last time-out and have none left, then they won't be surprised when the T is reported for calling an excessive time-out.

ca_rumperee Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:36pm

I was referencing opposing coach.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
If we do our jobs correctly and inform the HC that they have used their last time-out and have none left, then they won't be surprised when the T is reported for calling an excessive time-out.

opposing coaches, sometimes heads down with their teams.
interupt their huddle early to inform that they will be shooting tech and have inbounds division line?
information early or late here?

Adam Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:42pm

Announce the T right away, as you're reporting the timeout.

rockyroad Thu Feb 07, 2008 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
opposing coaches, sometimes heads down with their teams.
interupt their huddle early to inform that they will be shooting tech and have inbounds division line?
information early or late here?

Gotcha...if you think they didn't hear/see you report the T, then step in right away to let them know so they can use the time-out to set up the plays they need for that situation (getting ball at halfcourt).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1