The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Held ball and traveling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41463-held-ball-traveling.html)

eyezen Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:28pm

Held ball and traveling
 
What am I glossing over that makes me doubt myself-

NFHS case 4.25.2

A1 jumps to try for goal or to pass the ball. B1 leaps or reaches and is able to put his hands on the ball and keep A1 from releasing it. A1 a) returns to the floor with the ball....

Ruling A held ball results immediately in a)

NFHS case 4.44.3

A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and... c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball

Ruling In c) a traveling violation


NCAA 4-35-1b AR 95

A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against the try and a) touches the ball before it leaves A1's hand and A1 returns to the floor with the ball and the ball never loses contact with A1s hand...

Ruling In a) the official shall call a held ball...



Given the above my questions are -

A) In 4.25.2 do we assume that B1 also maintains contact with the ball to the floor?

B) If not wouldn't that contradict 4.44.3?

C1) NFHS both A and B return to floor with ball - held ball - yes

C2) NFHS only A returns with ball - traveling - correct?

D) NCAA either scenario - held ball - correct?

Snake~eyes Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:35pm

Read the last sentence of 4.44.3 Situation A
Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.
The key is that the touching did not prevent the release. If touching prevents release then you have a jump ball, assuming the ball never comes lose prior to A1 touching the floor.

Hope this helps.

Camron Rust Tue Jan 29, 2008 02:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen
Given the above my questions are -

A) In 4.25.2 do we assume that B1 also maintains contact with the ball to the floor?

B) If not wouldn't that contradict 4.44.3?

C1) NFHS both A and B return to floor with ball - held ball - yes

C2) NFHS only A returns with ball - traveling - correct?

D) NCAA either scenario - held ball - correct?

A: No. Not assumed and not necessary

B: No. The difference is in preventing the release vs. merely touching the ball

C1: Correct

C2: Maybe...depends on why....if at the point where A would have released the ball, B was preventing it, it is a jump ball.

D: Sounds like it. Perhaps the NCAA wanted to remove any judgement from the play and go with the least controversial result.

eyezen Tue Jan 29, 2008 02:54pm

So in summary:

A1 goes for try,

A) B1 goes for block both come down with ball

B) B1 goes for block releases only A comes down with ball

NCAA A) held ball
NCAA B) held ball

NFHS A) held ball
NFHS B) judgement of official whether prevented release held ball (yes) or traveling (no)

Is this correct?

mbyron Tue Jan 29, 2008 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen
So in summary:

A1 goes for try,

A) B1 goes for block both come down

B) B1 goes for block releases only A comes down

Good heavens, man, what happened to B1?? :eek: :eek: :eek:

eyezen Tue Jan 29, 2008 04:27pm

Funny ha

Post fixed.

BillyMac Wed Jan 30, 2008 08:09pm

Another Myth Bites The Dust ...
 
When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1