The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Confusion w/Coach Requesting TO (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41357-confusion-w-coach-requesting.html)

Freddy Fri Jan 25, 2008 04:56pm

Confusion w/Coach Requesting TO
 
Happened in our area, though I wasn't there. Serves as a response to a previous post asking, "What one rule would you like to see changed..."

I wasn't there, so the intricaties are stated for illustration purposes only.

Team A behind by two. A speedy A1, outside her the three point arc with possession. A coach requests "Time Out!" Trail consumes the time it takes to confirm it is the coach making the request. By the time he grants the timeout A1 was in the key making a layup which went in at the whistle. Trail grants the timeout, based on when the request being made by coach A.

TO to be administered at sideline, based on above scenerio -- crowd, coach (having drawn up an endline inbounds play) go nuts when TO not administered on the baseline.

In a perfect world, my rule change would be: only player in contol of the ball may request a timeout.

Idealistic, but with, I think, good rationale.

Similar sitch's put me in a pickle this year.

Agree?

M.P. -- You may respond in the language of the classics, if you wish. :)

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 25, 2008 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
By the time he grants the timeout A1 was in the key making a layup which went in at the whistle. Trail grants the timeout, based on when the request being made by coach A.

TO to be administered at sideline, based on above scenerio -- crowd, coach (having drawn up an endline inbounds play) go nuts when TO not administered on the baseline.

Agree?

No. Administer the throw-in at the closest spot to where the ball became dead. Rule 7-5-3(a). The ball became dead with your whistle, not when you acknowledged the TO. Rule 6-7-5.

You're reading something into the rules that isn't there.

Freddy Fri Jan 25, 2008 05:18pm

Good Point
 
Apparently, I (and I'm not alone!) had given too much weight to 5-8-5: "Time out occurs...when an official...grants a player's/head choach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: a. The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.

You're starting to bring me around on this.

Thank You!

Other's agree with Juraissic the Dinosaur?

Mark Padgett Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
M.P. -- You may respond in the language of the classics, if you wish. :)

In the immortal words of that classic patron of the game, The Swedish Chef -
"Yuoo shuoold edmeenister zee throo in et zee oooot ooff buoonds pueent neerest tu vhere-a zee puseeshun ooff zee bell ves et zee teeme-a yuoo bloo yuoor vheestle-a, byork, byork, byork."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1