The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   I couldn't believe it!!!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41334-i-couldnt-believe.html)

truerookie Fri Jan 25, 2008 02:17am

I couldn't believe it!!!!
 
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 25, 2008 02:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?

Did the officials award B the win?

My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.

JRutledge Fri Jan 25, 2008 02:24am

If he feels the team does not have a chance to win, then he can call the game at that point. I would have tried to see if they could win with one player. But that is a judgment call, but it does not sound like a good one by this particular official.

Peace

truerookie Fri Jan 25, 2008 02:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Did the officials award B the win?
My opinion is that the officials should have played out the entire regulation time.

Yes, team b was awarded the win

johnnyrao Fri Jan 25, 2008 06:41am

I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!:eek:

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 25, 2008 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Yes, team b was awarded the win

Then the officials did not know how to properly the rule and imho, cost A a real shot shot at being the game's winners.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:27am

The decision made was totally wrong by rule. Team A definitely had a chance to win as they were leading the game! Team B could have missed the rest of its shots and failed to score. There is NO WAY that a reasonable person can contend that Team A doesn't have a chance to win that game.

I would expect the state association to overturn that decision and order the game to be finished from the point that the officials left.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyrao
I have never actually seen this happen, but what if Team B is in the bonus and gets a 1 and 1? At this point in the game Team A is down to one player. How do you administer the free throw? Do you make A1 take one of the first positions for the free throw? Can I assume that this is one instance where Team A does not have to occupy both spots because they only have one player remaining? If not, I guess you could just award Team B two points since you would have continuous free throw violations and keep re-shooting until the player makes it. By the way I agree with everyone else here. They should have played it out. I'm not a coach but I with that little time left I have some thoughts on what I would do as a coach to win this game still if I was Team A's coach. I also assume that when the OP says A12 fouled out, that means that Team A had 12 players. Has anyone ever had a game where 11 players on a team fouled out? That's 55 fouls, at least, plus whatever the last player left has. Wow!:eek:

This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.

No technical foul if only one defensive player is available. I'll hunt around and find the backing citation.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No technical foul if only one defensive player is available. I'll hunt around and find the backing citation.

Great, thanks Rut.

chartrusepengui Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:29am

the timing is what is wrong here. A is ahead. So official shouldn't call the game until and if team B shoots and makes the 3 free throws to tie. If they tie the game - how is A supposed to inbound the ball? I know this is a risk to say - but any SMART coach in this situation is going to pull all their players to the far end of the court and after B1 shoots he should be going to at least division line. A can make throw in pass - but it's doubtful anyone would legally touch it. Violation, B's ball at spot. Call the game at this point if you are going to call it. But if all this happened with only 6.3 left - I'd have let it play out. I just think it looks better - especially if A had been playing hard with only 2 players and was still ahead in the game.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Great, thanks Rut.

Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult. ;)

Scrapper1 Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult. ;)

Insult to Rut?

Back In The Saddle Fri Jan 25, 2008 08:59am

While the rules discussion is useful, the situation presented smells like a load of complete doo doo. A has only 2 players left at the end of the game...and the foul count in the second half is only 5-6? What was the foul count at the end of the first half...128-6? :D

lpneck Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?

Nevadaref Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpneck
This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?

Perhaps this team only started with five or six. When the OP wrote A12, I believe that he was indicating that 12 was the player's number, not that he was one of twelve individuals on that team.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
This is a good question and I don't know the rule. Is Team A assessed a technical foul for not having players occupy both lower lane spaces? I don't see any other option according to the rules but admit that I'm not sure if there is an exception somewhere.

I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which. :D

The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!)
If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces.
The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible.

Here's the ruling:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
<o:p> </o:p>

jdw3018 Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Hey -- there's no need for that kind of insult. ;)

Oops. My bad. Sorry JR, and Rut. :D

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?

I call BS on this story. A varsity team with either 5 or 6 team fouls in the second half is down to two players? Either they committed about 30 fouls in the first half or there was some six-way collision where they all banged heads and got knocked out. Neither is too plausible.

jdw3018 Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which. :D

The question that you pose has already been thought of and posted on this very forum by yours truly, and then it was subsequently answered by the NFHS in one of the interpretations it issues at the start of each season. (So when it comes to HS basketball you think as I do. See told you that I had both good and bad news!)
If I recall the thread I created (perhaps someone can find it with the search function) involved the phrase "never-ending game" as I posited that a team which found itself trailing an opponent with only one player left, but not enough time to score sufficient points to catch-up could repeatedly miss a FT attempt as long as it struck the ring because the defending team would have to be charged with a violation for not occupying both of the first marked lane spaces.
The NFHS quickly issued a ruling, which stated not to penalize the team with only one player left for doing all that is possible.

Here's the ruling:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
<o:p> </o:p>

Thanks, Nevada, and I'll look at it as good news. ;)

chartrusepengui Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I have both good news and bad news for you. I'll leave it up to you to determine which is which. :D


2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)
<o:p> </o:p>

Now - about the throw-ins .............................

Nevadaref Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
Now - about the throw-ins .............................

Another player on the court, in this case one on the opposing team, must touch or be touched by the ball before the thrower can touch the ball. Otherwise it is a throw-in violation. The NFHS has not waived that requirement of game play.

mick Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Another player on the court, in this case one on the opposing team, must touch or be touched by the ball before the thrower can touch the ball. Otherwise it is a throw-in violation.

...And the clock may be running out. ;)

ca_rumperee Fri Jan 25, 2008 09:53am

My first thought is... YOU ACTUALLY SAW THIS??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Went to see a Varsity contest. Competitive game until the end.

Situation: Team-A is up by three 62-59 with 6.3 seconds remaining. With only two players left to finish the game. Team B's ball. As time is winding down A-12 fouls B-10. To prevent team b from getting a 3 point shot off. The foul count is H-5 V-6.

This is where it gets crazy as the official reports the foul on A-12 the table notifies the official(s) that it’s A-12 fifth foul which DQ's A-12. So now team A is left with one player. The officials realize team A has one player left decides to end the game.

Coach says to the officials loud enough for the entire gym to hear. You can’t call the game we are winning by 3.

Referee replies: Yes, I can by rule when you have only one player left to play. The game can be called and the officials leave the visual confines of the court.

Looking at the NOTE under rule 3-1-1. With team A up by three the game should have been finished giving A the opportunity to win the game.

Thoughts?

sounds like a one in a million happening.

Play should continue if Team A is believed to have a chance to win.
I would assume that having a 3 point lead with 6.3 seconds to play would constitute having a chance.

Scenario A
So, if Team B inbounds ( hey they aren't in the bonus after the other team has fouled out a bunch of guys??) and hits a 2, Team (Player) A inbounds and tosses ball to mid-court. Team B grabs and tries a last second try that misses. Game over Team A wins.

Scenario B
Team B inbounds, hits a 3 pointer. Game tied. I'll give A the benefit of the doubt and let them try to throw inbounds pass off of Team B leg, and maybe get fouled...
But if clock expires while tied, this game is over.

Whacky scenario C
Team B inbounds, hits a 2. Coach from B calls a time out. Team B coach tells his players "don't touch the inbounds pass!!!" "force a violation, we'll get it back and win" Team A player gently tosses the ball in the backcourt with say, 2.0 seconds left on the clock. Ball bounces about 12 times and finally comes to rest in the backcourt. Both coaches yell "don't touch it"....
How long do you wait before doing WHAT?

mick Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Whacky scenario C
Team B inbounds, hits a 2. Coach from B calls a time out. Team B coach tells his players "don't touch the inbounds pass!!!" "force a violation, we'll get it back and win" Team A player gently tosses the ball in the backcourt with say, 2.0 seconds left on the clock. Ball bounces about 12 times and finally comes to rest in the backcourt. Both coaches yell "don't touch it"....
How long do you wait before doing WHAT?

Warn Team B for delay? :cool:

CoachP Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
I call BS on this story. A varsity team with either 5 or 6 team fouls in the second half is down to two players? Either they committed about 30 fouls in the first half or there was some six-way collision where they all banged heads and got knocked out. Neither is too plausible.

..or a flagrant or two.

ref2coach Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
I call BS on this story. A varsity team with either 5 or 6 team fouls in the second half is down to two players? Either they committed about 30 fouls in the first half or there was some six-way collision where they all banged heads and got knocked out. Neither is too plausible.

Fouls are not the only thing that causes a team to play with less than 5 players. I had a game a week ago Tue. that at half time a player had a breathing problem resulting in the EMTs being called. Early in the third quarter a player twisted and ankle resulting in an inability to play. In 4th quarter 2nd player with breathing problems. There was also 1 player who did foul out. So they came with 7 players, 1 fouled out, 3 with "physical" problems so we completed the game with 5 playing 3.

Just saying the possibility does exist.;)

Indianaref Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach
Fouls are not the only thing that causes a team to play with less than 5 players. I had a game a week ago Tue. that at half time a player had a breathing problem resulting in the EMTs being called. Early in the third quarter a player twisted and ankle resulting in an inability to play. In 4th quarter 2nd player with breathing problems. There was also 1 player who did foul out. So they came with 7 players, 1 fouled out, 3 with "physical" problems so we completed the game with 5 playing 3.

Just saying the possibility does exist.;)

How about several players get ejected for fighting.

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref
How about several players get ejected for fighting.

Granted. But the fact that the OP hasn't provided a link to an article confirms my doubt of this story.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ca_rumperee
Whacky scenario C
Team B inbounds, hits a 2. Coach from B calls a time out. Team B coach tells his players "don't touch the inbounds pass!!!" "force a violation, we'll get it back and win" Team A player gently tosses the ball in the backcourt with say, 2.0 seconds left on the clock. Ball bounces about 12 times and finally comes to rest in the backcourt. Both coaches yell "don't touch it"....
How long do you wait before doing WHAT?

If it's obvious that they won't touch it, blow the whistle, explain the consequences of 5-4-1 and readminister the throw-in.

mick Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If it's obvious that they won't touch it, blow the whistle, explain the consequences of 5-4-1 and readminister the throw-in.

Thanks, Bob. :)

deecee Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by lpneck
This team has committed 5 fouls in the second half and had ALL of their players foul out of the game?

Link to media account of the story, please?

smells like a fish -- unless they only had 5 players to begin with and all 3 fouled out in the first half.

also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball.

but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.

mick Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Granted. But the fact that the OP hasn't provided a link to an article confirms my doubt of this story.

C'mon...! ...A link ? There may not be a local paper, no less a local paper with a web site.

truerookie Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:38pm

Do you actually think I would create a situation like this for the He!! of it? Give me a break. I don't know how many fouls were called in the 1st Half. I wasn't present in the first half. I just told you the situation from the second half until the end. One would think you could not have this occur at the varsity level until you actually witness yourself. I did!!

Camron Rust Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
smells like a fish -- unless they only had 5 players to begin with and all 3 fouled out in the first half.

All the players could have picked up 4 in the first half only to get their 5th in the 2nd.
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball.

but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.

Why can't B inbound the ball? All it has to do is touch some player, not necessarily a teammate. They only need to throw it to a player on the other team. If the other team can't score, the team with 1 player wins.

I agree that this situation is not likely, but it is plausable.

If this were to ever happen to me, I'm not calling the game until the team with 1 player is down by a couple baskets.

RookieDude Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Do you actually think I would create a situation like this for the He!! of it? Give me a break. I don't know how many fouls were called in the 1st Half. I wasn't present in the first half. I just told you the situation from the second half until the end. One would think you could not have this occur at the varsity level until you actually witness yourself. I did!!

....sniff...sniff...:D

truerookie Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
smells like a fish -- unless they only had 5 players to begin with and all 3 fouled out in the first half.

also it would conceivably end if the team with 5 hits all 3 free throws -- B cannot inbounds the ball.

but in this stitch i gotta give b their last 6 seconds especially since they are winning.


It's not B who is winning it's A. Team B down three at the time.

deecee Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
It's not B who is winning it's A. Team B down three at the time.

The OP says Team A is up by 3 and has 1 player....

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Jan 25, 2008 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Do you actually think I would create a situation like this for the He!! of it? Give me a break. I don't know how many fouls were called in the 1st Half. I wasn't present in the first half. I just told you the situation from the second half until the end. One would think you could not have this occur at the varsity level until you actually witness yourself. I did!!

What are the names of the schools, in what city and on what date was the game played?

Nevadaref Sat Jan 26, 2008 05:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
If this were to ever happen to me, I'm not calling the game until the team with 1 player is down by a couple baskets.

http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...ages/agree.gif
Give them a reasonable chance. Don't end it when it is tied or only a one-point game.

crazy voyager Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:25am

They must have called a LOT of fouls:O
how ever, if a team only has one player left then that team loses the game.
21 Lose by default
21.1 Rule
A team shall lose a game by default if, during the game, the team has fewer than two (2) players on the playing court ready to play.
21.2 Penalty
21.2.1 If the team to wich the game is awarded is ahed, the score shall stand as at the time when the game was stopped. If the team to wich the game is awarded is not ahead, the score shall be recorded as two to zero (2 to 0) in its favour. The defaulting team shall recive one (1) point in the classification.
21.2.2 For a two-game (home and away) total point series, the team that defaults in the first or in the second game shall lose the series by 'default'.

So they made it right, if they only have one player left, they lose. No matter how little time it is left.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1