The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41333-whats-call.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 25, 2008 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Not to be a stickler here but since we are intent on making sure we have this play right according to the rules..well the substitute upon illegal entry, becomes a legal player once the ball becomes LIVE!

Once the ball is handed to the thrower or @ the thrower's disposal then the ball would be live, substitute becomes a legal player, total of 6, team technical when discovered.:D

See case book play 6.4.1. That's the criteria that I used for the point when I think that an official can stop play and get the sixth player off the court without having to assess a technical foul.

Gimlet25id Fri Jan 25, 2008 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See case book play 6.4.1. That's the criteria that I used for the point when I think that an official can stop play and get the sixth player off the court without having to assess a technical foul.

JR...not sure how 6.4.1 relates? Please explain..:confused:

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 25, 2008 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
JR...not sure how 6.4.1 relates? Please explain..:confused:

That case play talks about when it's too late to correct a mistake on an AP. It's too late when the AP throw-in touches an inbound player. We usually use the same criteria to decide when it's too late to correct giving the ball to the wrong team on a throw-in also. I extrapolated it to cover the situation as to when it is too late to correct having 6 teammates on the court without having to assess a technical foul. I may be wrong but that's my take on the play being discussed.

My point to swkansasref33 was that once they have started playing, you have to issue a "T"; you can't just stop and take a player off without assessing any penalty.

Gimlet25id Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That case play talks about when it's too late to correct a mistake on an AP. It's too late when the AP throw-in touches an inbound player. We usually use the same criteria to decide when it's too late to correct giving the ball to the wrong team on a throw-in also. I extrapolated it to cover the situation as to when it is too late to correct having 6 teammates on the court without having to assess a technical foul. I may be wrong but that's my take on the play being discussed.

My point to swkansasref33 was that once they have started playing, you have to issue a "T"; you can't just stop and take a player off without assessing any penalty.

OK. I understand your reasoning. However I don't believe in this play that would be correct .

Rule 4-34-3

The whole key to this play is when does the substitute who enters illegally become a legal player? Which would determine when that player could get off without penalty.

Once the ball becomes live and a team has 6 players that the official recognizes then it would be penalized with the Team T as you have said.

If the sub gets off before the ball becomes live then no penalty. I agree that once the ball becomes live that you can't arbitrarily decide to set aside the rule by not assessing the "T"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1