The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical or intentional? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41297-technical-intentional.html)

secondregionbug Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:33pm

Technical or intentional?
 
After a made FT the D reaches over the line and grabs the player with the ball. Is this a technical or intentional foul?

atcref Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:35pm

The ball is live, if you think the action is intentional then it is an intentional foul.
The few times that I have seen this dumb situation is a team trying to stop the clock with a handfull of seconds left.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:36pm

Hit the ball, it's a T.

Foul the thrower, it's an intentional personal foul.

Dan_ref Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
After a made FT the D reaches over the line and grabs the player with the ball. Is this a technical or intentional foul?

I'm not even sure this is basketball.

T if there's no contact with the player with the ball, intentional if there is.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by atcref
The ball is live, if you think the action is intentional then it is an intentional foul.

It has nothing to do with what you think.

It's intentional BY RULE.

secondregionbug Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:38pm

He grabs the thrower that is out of bounds after the made FT?

secondregionbug Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:43pm

Can you still run the end line after the foul shot?

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
He grabs the thrower that is out of bounds after the made FT?

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Can you still run the end line after the foul shot?

Dude, what are you talking about?

secondregionbug Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:47pm

Read about post

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:48pm

Read about post?

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Dude, what are you talking about?

He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.

atcref Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:49pm

According to the book, no question it is an intentional foul, but there will be someone that literally interprets this and puts common sense aside.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.

In the OP, there was a FT.

If you call the intentional foul, there are FTs.

He did not explain which situation he was asking about.

And I have no idea what the other question was about.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by atcref
... but there will be someone that literally interprets this and puts common sense aside.

I'm not sure what you're saying above.

I only know that you said "if you think the action is intentional then it is an intentional foul." That was incorrect.

atcref Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:54pm

I see your point......... the answer to the question is that it is intentional

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
In the OP, there was a [made] FT.

Yes, and then B takes the ball OOB...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
If you call the intentional foul, there are FTs.

Yes...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
He did not explain which situation he was asking about.

He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.

If you believed that, you would have already answered him instead of trying to convince yourself and me. :D

Gimlet25id Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
He wants to know if A is permitted to run the endline during the throw-in following the 2 fouls shots. It's a great question, given that A could run the endline before the foul.


No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.

Thanks Gimlet. That's been bugging Jughead the entire thread. :p

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.

Good to know! I never knew that! :p

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Thanks Gimlet. That's been bugging Jughead the entire thread. :p

What bugs me is I never got any royalties from....

http://www.gabbytoys.com/images/Funko/830395000435.jpg

BktBallRef Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:57pm

You should sue. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...mages/evil.gif

Nevadaref Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
No the player can't run after the FT's for the Intentional foul. Two shots "spot" throw-in nearest spot of the foul.

Correct. That was a rule change in the 2004-05 season when the word "common" was added to 7-5-7.
Here is the current case book play:

7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-4b)

secondregionbug Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:26am

The rule was changed to allow the baseline to still be run, this I cannot find if it applies to a intentional foul?

Scrapper1 Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
The rule was changed to allow the baseline to still be run, this I cannot find if it applies to a intentional foul?

Bug, re-read Nevadaref's post directly before yours. He answers your question directly. The team retains the right to run the endline only after a violation or COMMON foul.

bgtg19 Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Hit the ball, it's a T.

Foul the thrower, it's an intentional personal foul.

I don't have a rule book with me, but I thought that the proper call was "intentional foul" if an opponent contacts the thrower out of bounds. I write for clarification just because someone might read "foul the thrower" and apply common foul judgment (e.g., yeah, he contacted him out of bounds, but the contact wasn't signficant enough to call...). It is my understanding that ANY contact with the ball while in possession of the thrower is a T (as you indicated) and ANY contact with the thrower is an intentional foul. Perhaps someone with a book could clarify.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1