The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Allowing a time out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/4128-allowing-time-out.html)

murl8248 Fri Feb 15, 2002 05:36pm

Need clarification on two situations. Both Similar. Team A has successfully completed the second free throw. Or, Team A has just made a successful field goal. Under High School league rules, is Team A allowed to call a time out immediately following the made basket in either situation? When does "Control" transfer to Team B?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Feb 15, 2002 09:54pm

Team A cannot be granted a timeout if its request is after the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a throw-in. For a great discussion concerning when the ball is at the disposal of Team B please see the following thread:

http://www.officialforum.com/thread/4037

BktBallRef Fri Feb 15, 2002 11:46pm

A great discussion? :confused:

Bart Tyson Sat Feb 16, 2002 12:18am

Mark, that wasn't very nice. :(

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 16, 2002 12:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
A great discussion? :confused:

I just thought it would save a lot of time.

Mark Padgett Sat Feb 16, 2002 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by murl8248
Under High School league rules, is Team A allowed to call a time out immediately following the made basket in either situation?
Here's where my pet peeve pops his ugly little head back out. The correct answer is: "Team A can NEVER call a timeout under HS league rules. All they can do is REQUEST one. Only the officials can CALL a timeout."

Sorry mur18248, you probably didn't deserve that, but dang it - I just couldn't help myself.

murl8248 Mon Feb 18, 2002 11:18am

even more confused now!
 
So I am still confused. Not unusual though! Got the REQUEST part though. Which brings up more issues. If the time out is a REQUEST, and team A requests a time out when not having any left, and the referee has knowledge to that fact, should the referee ignore the request sparing the team a technical? Or, are we to CALL the timeout regardless?

And, I am still unsure as to when control changes from team A to team B after a made basket. Is the ball at the disposal of Team B immediately after the made basket, therefore Team A cannot call a time out? And, if the time out is a request, and again, if we call the timeout for Team A, and it is a violation of the rules, then do we call a technical? Or, is it our problem for not handling the situation correctly?

Mark Dexter Mon Feb 18, 2002 11:33am

Murl, here are a few key points for NF regarding timeouts.

(1) A team can "buy" an excess timeout for a technical foul. It is not the official's job to say "are you sure" or "do you really want one," etc. The team needs to keep track of the timeouts, not you (although you should be aware that a team has no TO's remaining).

(2) If you blow the whistle to grant a TO when one should not be granted, you now grant the timeout (because the ball is dead from the whistle).

(3) It's not a timeout until you or your partner grants it!!

(4) After a made basket, team B's control starts when they gain the ball or when it is available to them. Check one of the earlier threads for this - I'm not getting into it!!

Slider Mon Feb 18, 2002 11:52am

Grant on Goal
 
Quote:

Originally posted by murl8248
Is the ball at the disposal of Team B immediately after the made basket, therefore Team A cannot call a time out?
The ball is dead IMMEDIATELY after a made basket, so almost all officials agree, that if either team calls a time-out at the instant the goal is made, grant the request.

A good rule of thumb is: If the ball is still inbounds, and you have not started a 5 second count, grant the request by either team.

[Edited by Slider on Feb 18th, 2002 at 10:55 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1