![]() |
In a game that I refereed yesterday I had this situation come up and I am unclear as to the right call.
Team B makes a basket. A1 is inbounding the ball when B1 crosses the end line. A delay of game warning is issued to Team B. Then Team A is awarded the ball for a spot throw in. My question is was team A allowed to run the endline or was the spot throw in the right call. I have looked in the NFHS rule book and could not find the answer to this question. Did I make the right call? |
I believe that after the basket teamA can still run the baseline after the delay of game. ( please help on my question)
|
If a team were not allowed to run the baseline after the warning, then this would give an advantage to the defensive team by intentionally violating during a critical part of the game. For that reason, I will allow the team to run the baseline, even though there is not a specific casebook play. This might be one to send to NFHS for their interpretation.
|
Guys - this is really an easy one. A team may run the endline after a made or awarded score. Any delay such as a boundary violation or a timeout does not change that right even though case 6.5 misstates the issue.
|
I agree that this shouldn't be a spot because that would allow teams to take the intentional delay in order to switch the throw-in from running line to spot. During a press late in the game that can be a pretty big switch!
|
They can still run the baseline... see page 53 of the rule book, 9-2-11 then see the bold type below "Penalty http://www.ereferee.com/ubb/frown.gifsection 2) #1"
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40pm. |