The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Had it, then lost it (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40942-had-then-lost.html)

Rufus Thu Jan 10, 2008 09:20pm

Had it, then lost it
 
Had it
Boys 8th grade game tonight. I'm T and there is an inbound at midcourt. A1 throws the ball in the air to teammate A2 who jumps from A's frontcourt, catches the ball, lands in A's backcourt. I don't have any call since it's not a backcourt violation per 9.9.3, start my backcourt 10 count, we move on with life.

Lost it
Same game, late in the 4th quarter with 1:02 showing on the clock. Team A inbounds in their frontcourt (no backcourt count) and immediately drives to the basket (no closely guarded situation so no 5 second count). Basket is good, Team B grabs the ball and my partner, who was L and is now T, starts his 5 second inbound count. The ball is inbounded and my partner switches to his 10 second backcourt count. He then notices the clock never started after Team A's throw in.

While I know we both hoarked this one (trust me, you don't want to know what my partner did, and what I allowed him to do, to "fix" this - I don't think it impacted the result of the game as Team B won by more than 10 points) I want to be sure of the remedy in case it ever happens again. Since the only definitive count we have is my partner's inbound count and his following backcourt count that is the only time we can take off the clock, correct (5-10-2)? Also, this is not a correctable error per 2-10-5 so the points scored still count? Is that correct?

Again, I know we messed this one up but want to be sure it doesn't happen again so feedback/corrections are most appreciated.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2008 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Had it
Boys 8th grade game tonight. I'm T and there is an inbound at midcourt. A1 throws the ball in the air to teammate A2 who jumps from A's frontcourt, catches the ball, lands in A's backcourt. I don't have any call since it's not a backcourt violation per 9.9.3, start my backcourt 10 count, we move on with life.

Good no call!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Lost it
Same game, late in the 4th quarter with 1:02 showing on the clock. Team A inbounds in their frontcourt (no backcourt count) and immediately drives to the basket (no closely guarded situation so no 5 second count). Basket is good, Team B grabs the ball and my partner, who was L and is now T, starts his 5 second inbound count. The ball is inbounded and my partner switches to his 10 second backcourt count. He then notices the clock never started after Team A's throw in.

While I know we both hoarked this one (trust me, you don't want to know what my partner did, and what I allowed him to do, to "fix" this - I don't think it impacted the result of the game as Team B won by more than 10 points) I want to be sure of the remedy in case it ever happens again. Since the only definitive count we have is my partner's inbound count and his following backcourt count that is the only time we can take off the clock, correct (5-10-2)? Also, this is not a correctable error per 2-10-5 so the points scored still count? Is that correct?

Correct, correct, and correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Again, I know we messed this one up but want to be sure it doesn't happen again so feedback/corrections are most appreciated.

You can't babysit the table, so if you have a high degree on confidence in them, then I think it's just a brain fart. (They will happen in your career.) If you and your P are suspicious of the table, take a quick peek to the clock when you can. If you have to, voice for them to start the clock.

I've had a suspicious table crew during a close game. When a TO is called near the end of the game, I go to them and remind them that at this point in the game, one of the most important things for them to do is to start and stop the clock properly.

So what did your P do? :D

rainmaker Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:01pm

Rufus, you had it, you nailed it. Good job.

You had it, you lost it, but now you've found it again, and you won't lose it again. That's the best thing about making mistakes. If you look at them carefully, and figure out what to do differently next time, then there won't be a next time. Good job.

grunewar Fri Jan 11, 2008 06:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If you have to, voice for them to start the clock.

Amen!

B12 game the other night. You have no idea how many times I had to yell, "CLOCK! CLOCK!" to get the table person to stop watching the game and remember he was there to help administer it...... frustrating as heck and can make for a long night.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 11, 2008 08:35am

I agree with Jug.

Rufus Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:14pm

Thanks to all for responding, the confirmation, and advice on managing the table. The frustrating thing is the table had been steady and right on it for both the girls game and the boys game up until that point. What a time to veg out! It serves as a good reminder to be ever vigilant, however.

And, since I'm implicated in my partner's "creative" solution and therefore guilty as heck (we are a team), there's no way I'm sharing what happened with this august body of officiating lore and knowledge! Suffice it to say that I'm now better armed to deal with it if it happens again!

Adam Fri Jan 11, 2008 02:08pm

I've got a feeling I know how it was handled, given the questions you asked.

Live and learn. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:02am

I once had hair on my head but now I have lost it. :D

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1