The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How who you rule on this? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40899-how-who-you-rule.html)

kycat1 Wed Jan 09, 2008 09:33am

How who you rule on this?
 
A1 throw a pass in from out of bounds on the side of his front court towards his basket for a breaking A2. The pass from A1 is thrown too hard and first hits the backboard and rim before any one else touches it. The ball starts to roll around the rim and for some reason B1 knocks it off the rim. What do you call?:confused:
Remember it is a violations to throw in the ball directly from out of bounds. Also remember this is a pass not a shot (from behind the 3 point line). Please give rule(s) used.

BktBallRef Wed Jan 09, 2008 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
A1 throw a pass in from out of bounds on the side of his front court towards his basket for a breaking A2. The pass from A1 is thrown too hard and first hits the backboard and rim before any one else touches it. The ball starts to roll around the rim and for some reason B1 knocks it off the rim. What do you call?:confused:
Remember it is a violations to throw in the ball directly from out of bounds. Also remember this is a pass not a shot (from behind the 3 point line). Please give rule(s) used.

Basket interference. 2 points for Team A.

4-6-1
Basket interference occurs when a player:
Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

9.11.2 SITUATION C: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds, what happens if B1 touches the throw-in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A's basket?

RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a two-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end lines as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (9-2-7)

The ball was not throw into the basket from OOB, so that has nothing to do with it.

The fact that it was not a shot has nothing to do with it.

I hope you got it right.

jdw3018 Wed Jan 09, 2008 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
A1 throw a pass in from out of bounds on the side of his front court towards his basket for a breaking A2. The pass from A1 is thrown too hard and first hits the backboard and rim before any one else touches it. The ball starts to roll around the rim and for some reason B1 knocks it off the rim. What do you call?:confused:
Remember it is a violations to throw in the ball directly from out of bounds. Also remember this is a pass not a shot (from behind the 3 point line). Please give rule(s) used.

This is basket interference. Award A 2 points and give B the ball for an endline throw-in.

9.11.2 Sit C is your reference.

chartrusepengui Wed Jan 09, 2008 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Basket interference. 2 points for Team A.

4-6-1
Basket interference occurs when a player:
Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.


Agreed. There was no violation on team A because team A didn't throw the ball through basket on throw-in. It is not a violation for team A to throw the ball in and hit the backboard, rim. The violation only occurs if the ball goes through.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 09, 2008 09:52am

Consult the Grinch, since you are obviously working a game in Whoville.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1