|  | 
| 
 Running the baseline to inbound Team A scores a basket.  Team B calls an immediate timeout, prior to the ball being inbounded.  Ref hands team B player the ball after the time out.  Can he run the baseline or does he have to inbound the ball from where the ref hands him the ball?   Thank you! | 
| 
 He can still run the baseline. | 
| 
 Is there any situation when the player needs to remain stationary when inbounding from the baseline?   (Thank you for your help! I'm a baseball umpire who is trying to get this info for a youth coach and I know nothing about b-ball) | 
| 
 He can only run the baseline after a made basket or foul shot.   All other situations (non-shooting fouls, ball goes out of bounds, violations, etc.) if the correct position is a "spot" inbound on the baseline, he has limited movement (3 feet either way of the spot) - but can not "run the baseline." | 
| 
 Thank you for taking the time to clarify this.  I will pass this information along! | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Or if the defense commits a foul or violation during an endline throwin and the ensuing throwin is also on the endline. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 Just wanted to clarify that point. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 Just wanted to clarify that too. I know that you knew it. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 7.5.7 SITUATION C: Team B has scored a field goal and A1 has the ball along the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 inbounds near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the division line; (c) B1 fouls A2 beyond the division line; or (d) A2 requests a time-out. RULING: In (a) and (d), Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds along the end line following the foul reporting and the time-out. In (b) and (c), the ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. | 
| 
 And, while either stationary for a "spot" throw-in or while running the baseline, the thrower may legally bounce the ball while OOB, all other things being legal. | 
| 
 Another Myth Bites The Dust A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line.  During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot.  An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet.  A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows.  If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling.  In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet.  A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22pm. |