The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and Back? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40879-over-back.html)

curtstrouth Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:58pm

Over and Back?
 
Here is the situation:

Team A is bringing the ball up the floor and A1 has the ball and crosses over the half court line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is still established is the backcourt. A2 jumps and catches the ball in mid-air and then proceeds to land in the front court. What is the ruling?

I am 99% sure that is over and back, but what does it take for A2 to be extablished in the front court? One foot, two feet?

TimTaylor Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by curtstrouth
Here is the situation:

Team A is bringing the ball up the floor and A1 has the ball and crosses over the half court line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is still established is the backcourt. A2 jumps and catches the ball in mid-air and then proceeds to land in the front court. What is the ruling?

I am 99% sure that is over and back, but what does it take for A2 to be extablished in the front court? One foot, two feet?

Situation as you described is a back court violation.

To answer your 2nd question, A2 must have at least one foot touching only in front court with no other body part touching the court anywhere else.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by curtstrouth
Here is the situation:

Team A is bringing the ball up the floor and A1 has the ball and crosses over the half court line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is still established is the backcourt. A2 jumps and catches the ball in mid-air and then proceeds to land in the front court. What is the ruling?

I am 99% sure that is over and back, but what does it take for A2 to be extablished in the front court? One foot, two feet?

Yes, it's a violation. See 4-player location for how to be "extablished (sic) in the front court."

Gimlet25id Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by curtstrouth
Here is the situation:

Team A is bringing the ball up the floor and A1 has the ball and crosses over the half court line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is still established is the backcourt. A2 jumps and catches the ball in mid-air and then proceeds to land in the front court. What is the ruling?

I am 99% sure that is over and back, but what does it take for A2 to be extablished in the front court? One foot, two feet?

When dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt the ball doesn't have frontcourt staus until both of the players feet are in the frontcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt.

In your play as soon as the "A" player picked up the ball and neither one of his feet is touching the backcourt, he established frontcourt/team control status.

JS 20 Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
When dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt the ball doesn't have frontcourt staus until both of the players feet are in the frontcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt.

In your play as soon as the "A" player picked up the ball and neither one of his feet is touching the backcourt, he established frontcourt/team control status.

Isn't this first statement incorrect? If you cross over half court w/ the ball and you have one foot in the front court, one in the back court...as soon as you pick up that foot in the back court, you are established in the front court and any touching of the BC would then be a violation, correct?

Gimlet25id Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
Isn't this first statement incorrect? If you cross over half court w/ the ball and you have one foot in the front court, one in the back court...as soon as you pick up that foot in the back court, you are established in the front court and any touching of the BC would then be a violation, correct?

No!!! you could dribble from BC to FC have one foot in the FC, neither foot in the BC, and still be dribbling in the BC without it being a violation.

JS 20 Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:18pm

I definitely see your point. But I think there's an example in the rule book or something in the case book where someone catches an inbounds pass stradling the time line (one foot FC one foot in BC) and he lifts the BC foot. He is now established in the FC. Probably has something to do w/ if he's dribbling or not.

BktBallRef Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS 20
Isn't this first statement incorrect? If you cross over half court w/ the ball and you have one foot in the front court, one in the back court...as soon as you pick up that foot in the back court, you are established in the front court and any touching of the BC would then be a violation, correct?

He said DRIBBLING, not holding the ball.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by curtstrouth
Here is the situation:

Team A is bringing the ball up the floor and A1 has the ball and crosses over the half court line. A1 then passes the ball to A2 who is still established is the backcourt. A2 jumps and catches the ball in mid-air and then proceeds to land in the front court. What is the ruling?

I am 99% sure that is over and back, but what does it take for A2 to be extablished in the front court? One foot, two feet?

Ok, I finally figured it out. Obviously, this question must be on the Part 2 exam. This is about the 5th thread that has been posted about this situation in the past two weeks. :(

Come on, people. Open your rules book!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1