The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interference or Not! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40839-basket-interference-not.html)

rainmaker Mon Jan 07, 2008 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I can't say I have ever seen it either ... but I have had a lot of partners who have! :rolleyes:

LOL!!

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 07, 2008 02:21pm

Partners from the Lead position too! :eek:

BktBallRef Mon Jan 07, 2008 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
I thought there was a caseplay where B1 pulls the rim down and releases it causing it to vibrate during the attempt resulting in BI...anyone? I don't have my casebook..

I was referring to the rim returning to it's normal position, which is different than hitting it and causing it to vibrate.

BillyMac Mon Jan 07, 2008 06:59pm

Another Myth Bites The Dust
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 07, 2008 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

Not exactly. While safety absolves a player from getting a technical foul for hanging on the rim, it does not eliminate the possibility of basket interference (or goal tending if the ball bounces on their hand as it is partly in the cylinder on it's inintial descent).

A2 grabs the rim while in the process of missing a dunk....officials judges that B1 is right under A2 and does not call a T. A1 taps the ball in. A2 is still hanging on the rim when A1's shot bounces on the rim....BI.

9redskin4 Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:55pm

Thanks guys. I will change my ways. In both situations the player was not making an attempt to block the ball, therefore the tech was correct. The BI was not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1