The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   new rule question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40822-new-rule-question.html)

MJT Sat Jan 05, 2008 09:52pm

new rule question
 
New rule 4-15-4-d says the dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

So here is the scenario we are debating. A1 is dribbling and B1 knocks it away and...
1) A1 is able to retrieve the ball and continues his dribble, or
2) A1 is able to retrieve the ball with a jump stop, and then dribbles again.

What do you have in both scenarios? I did not get to a rule meeting this year, but was told and thought that both of these scenarios would be an illegal dribble.

Ok, I edited the post to say retrieves the ball with a jump stop to make sure we do not have confusion.

JS 20 Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
New rule 4-15-4-d says the dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

So here is the scenario we are debating. A1 is dribbling and B1 knocks it away and...
1) A1 is able to retreive the ball and continues his dribble, or
2) A1 is able to retreive the ball, jump stops, and then dribbles again.

What do you have in both scenarios? I did not get to a rule meeting this year, but was told and thought that both of these scenarios would be an illegal dribble.

1)Legal
2) Sounds like it would look like a travel based on what you're saying. If the player regains control and then just jumps?

sixer Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:55pm

Agree with JS 20. Sit #2 would be the lifting of the pivot foot before starting a dribble, no?

jdw3018 Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
New rule 4-15-4-d says the dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

So here is the scenario we are debating. A1 is dribbling and B1 knocks it away and...
1) A1 is able to retreive the ball and continues his dribble, or
2) A1 is able to retreive the ball, jump stops, and then dribbles again.

What do you have in both scenarios? I did not get to a rule meeting this year, but was told and thought that both of these scenarios would be an illegal dribble.

If there is no travel as cited above, both of these scenarios are legal.

MJT Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:48pm

Like I said, I was not at the rule meeting, but a friend of mine said the scenarios I posted are travels under the new rule. What is the purpose of this new rule?

Johnny Ringo Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:57pm

Both cases are legal. The dribble ends when B1 touches (if you think loss of control) .... and a new dribble can begin.

in the second case, A1 gathers the ball and jump stops - if the drible was over prior than they can legally start a new dribble.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
New rule 4-15-4-d says the dribble ends when the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

So here is the scenario we are debating. A1 is dribbling and B1 knocks it away and...
1) A1 is able to retrieve the ball and continues his dribble, or
2) A1 is able to retrieve the ball with a jump stop, and then dribbles again.

In both situations, the first dribble ended when B1 touched the ball and player control ended. Therefore, any player, including A1 can recover the ball and begin a new dribble.

1) He doesn't continue the dribble. The dribble ended. He begins a new dribble.

2) There's no rule that says you can't dribble after a jumpstop when you haven't already used your dribble.

Both plays are legal.

MJT Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:13am

Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1