The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What Did I Just See? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40788-what-did-i-just-see.html)

NCAAREF Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:33pm

What Did I Just See?
 
OK, figure someone here will have an answer. NCAA Rules please. Watching the JV game before my contest last night and one of the JV officials calls a foul on a player. (2 shots to be awarded) The table informs him that is the 5th and DQ'ing foul so he walks towards his partner and informs him that #24 has 5 fouls. His partner then notifies #24 and he proceeds to leave the game. Now I know normally the non-calling official would notify the coach but in this case as quite often happens the calling official notified the coach of #24's fifth foul. No biggie so far. He then tells the table to time the 20 seconds for a sub. Now is when my eyes got BIG. While the one official is waiting for the DQ'd player to be replaced the other offical is administering the first FT. It missed, and now they have a coach who wants it reshot because he feels it should not have been administered until the sub was brought in, and the other coach who is saying what's the difference? It's the first of two. After the game they asked my and my partner what the correct proceedure was to get out of the the fix they put themselves in. Have to admit, I wasn't sure if there is an exact rule/reg to cover it and I'm still not. It wasn't an unmerited FT in my opinion so the whole correctable error thing is a mute point I think. Any suggestions?

Scrapper1 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:37pm

I believe that there was an NCAA AR published two years ago on this exact case. The ruling was that the ball cannot become live until the replacement procedure is completed. IOW, cancel the free throw and re-administer both free throws after the sub is in the game.

In NFHS, I believe the error is not correctable.

Dan_ref Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:39pm

This comes up every now and then. I believe there was an ncaa bulletin addressing this play that says any FTs administered prior to the DQ'ed player being replaced do not count. Has nothing to do with 2-11 (2-10 nfhs).

IMO this applies to nfhs rules as well but some disagree.

scrappy beat me to it :)

JRutledge Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:47pm

Why are officials in such a hurry to put the ball in play? Man this is so easily avoidable.

I think I saw the same bulletin that Dan did. I do not know if that interpretation has changed. After all they do have a casebook now.

Peace

NCAAREF Fri Jan 04, 2008 01:47pm

You're Right JR
 
That's exactly what I told the officials, how in the world did you let this happen? I'll have to look up the bulletin the other folks cited.

grunewar Fri Jan 04, 2008 02:14pm

Nice Pre-game conversation:

R - "Look if we get in situation where I am at the table or waiting for a player after a DQ and am not in the right position to monitor the first shot of two free throws, just go ahead and administer it yourself so we can keep the game moving, ok?"

U - "ok."

:confused:

bob jenkins Fri Jan 04, 2008 02:21pm

I agree with those who say the NCAA does not allow the FT (by interp).

I'm 87% certain that the FT stands in FED.

Coltdoggs Fri Jan 04, 2008 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I agree with those who say the NCAA does not allow the FT (by interp).

I'm 87% certain that the FT stands in FED.

Did you know that 73.6% of all statistics are made up on the spot?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1