The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Foul During Free Throws. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40779-double-foul-during-free-throws.html)

tnsteele95 Fri Jan 04, 2008 06:54am

Double Foul During Free Throws.
 
Team A is shooting two. After the first shot, two opposing players preparing to rebound, but before second shot is attempted, start shoving each other, resulting in a double foul. The team not currently shooting is in the bonus. Where do you go from here? I'm a rec league ref, and we were very puzzled on what to do next, or at least after the second free throw.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 04, 2008 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tnsteele95
Team A is shooting two. After the first shot, two opposing players preparing to rebound, but before second shot is attempted, start shoving each other, resulting in a double foul. The team not currently shooting is in the bonus. Where do you go from here? I'm a rec league ref, and we were very puzzled on what to do next, or at least after the second free throw.

First I will assume the the shooter has the ball for the 2nd FT. If he doesn't then the ball isn't live yet and you can only charge technical fouls, if the contact rises to the level of intentional or flagrant, if it doesn't then by rule the contact should be ignored.

Secondly there are NO FTs awarded for double fouls. It doesn't matter how many team fouls either side has. That makes it really simple.
If the shooter hasn't released the try, the ball becomes dead at the time of the double personal foul. The fouls are charged and the game is resumed at the POI. In this case that is the second FT to which the shooter is still entitled. Line everyone up as usual and continue as normal.

If the shooter had released the ball on the FT try, then the ball remains live until the FT attempt is either successful or unsuccessful. At this point the fouls are charged and the game resumes at the POI.
If the FT was good, then the POI is a throw-in for the nonscoring team from anywhere behind the end line. If the shooter missed the FT, then the AP arrow must be consulted as neither team had control or was entitled to a FT or throw-in when the ball became dead, so the team with the arrow gets a designated-spot throw-in from the end line and the intersection with the FT lane line.

tnsteele95 Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:25am

The free throw shooter still had ball in hand. We missed it a little then. We called the double personal fouls not technicals. We then allowed the 2nd free throw attempt, which was made, and the opposing team took possession as usual. We didn't award any "bonus" free throws.

kbilla Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tnsteele95
The free throw shooter still had ball in hand. We missed it a little then. We called the double personal fouls not technicals. We then allowed the 2nd free throw attempt, which was made, and the opposing team took possession as usual. We didn't award any "bonus" free throws.

No actually that sounds like you did it correctly if the shooter still had the ball in hand. Are you saying that the shooter had the ball at his disposal for the second FT when the double foul occurred? If that is the case, then as Nevada notes you have the double foul, then you give the ball back to the shooter for the 2nd free throw attempt and play on from there....no free throws for the double foul, just POI as Nevada notes..

If the double foul occurred as they were "preparing to rebound" the first attempt then that is a dead ball and you would have to have double techs in that situation...the result is the same though as far as the administration since you don't shoot FT's for the double techs either...

tnsteele95 Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:51am

Okay, good then. Noone argued it. It started with some pretty sever hand slapping and a retaliation. It was more than incidental contact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1