The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error or Not?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40716-correctable-error-not.html)

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 02, 2008 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FeetBallRef
No one got "screwed" on this one. I heard about the play & thought it would be a good situation to discuss.

If the first set of shots was a 1&1 to be shot by A1 & A2 shoots & misses the first shot of the 1&1, does A2 get to shoot the technicals or does anything else change? If A1 shoots the technicals then he is getting more shots than he should have...

I think you're either overthinking this (which takes a lot for *me* to say that), or really not listening to what's been said and thinking about it.

If the officials mess up and allow the shots to be taken in reverse order, that's total. A2 doesn't shoot the 1&1. He shoots the T. If he misses the first shot, he (or any teammate or substitute who enters the game for this purpose) shoots the second shot. Then A1 takes the 1&1 shot(s). After which any member of A may throw the ball in from midcourt, opposite the table.

FeetBallRef Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:01pm

Well I guess the bottom line is that we really don't care what sequence we shoot free throws during the same dead ball period. They should add words to Rule 8.6.2 & 8.7.1 which allows this exception...


Rule 8 Section 6 Art. 2... If there is a multiple throw and both a personal and technical foul are involved, the tries shall be attempted in the order in which the related fouls were called, and if the last try is for a technical foul, or intentional or flagrant personal foul, the ball shall be put in play by a throw-in.

Rule 8 Section 7 Art. 1... Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FeetBallRef
Well I guess the bottom line is that we really don't care what sequence we shoot free throws during the same dead ball period. They should add words to Rule 8.6.2 & 8.7.1 which allows this exception...


Rule 8 Section 6 Art. 2... If there is a multiple throw and both a personal and technical foul are involved, the tries shall be attempted in the order in which the related fouls were called, and if the last try is for a technical foul, or intentional or flagrant personal foul, the ball shall be put in play by a throw-in.

Rule 8 Section 7 Art. 1... Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occurred.

No need to add such rules/exceptions. The NFHS has already given us instructions on how to handle it, whether you like it or not.

FeetBallRef Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
No need to add such rules/exceptions. The NFHS has already given us instructions on how to handle it, whether you like it or not.

That is probably my problem, I can't find those instructions where we don't have to follow the foul shot sequence.

It's not that I don't like it, I just don't understand why there is 2 different rules on shot sequence & then if we don't follow those shot sequence rules, that it is OK too... :confused:

rainmaker Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FeetBallRef
That is probably my problem, I can't find those instructions where we don't have to follow the foul shot sequence.

It's not that I don't like it, I just don't understand why there is 2 different rules on shot sequence & then if we don't follow those shot sequence rules, that it is OK too... :confused:

No one is saying it's okay. What we're saying is, it's not correctable. You're just being difficult.

Adam Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:14am

Consider it like giving the ball to the wrong team on a throw in. It's not ok. It's a mistake, but once the throwin is complete, it's too late to correct it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1