The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40699-traveling.html)

footlocker Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:29pm

traveling?
 
Is it a travel if a player gains control of the ball while one knee is on the ground and one foot (the thinker position) if he lifts his knee while the foot on the other leg remains planted?

please post rule for college and nfhs...

just another ref Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:37pm

yes


NFHS:

4-44-5: A player holding the ball after gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

footlocker Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
yes


NFHS:

4-44-5: A player holding the ball after gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.


ok is he considered to be on the floor? why can't i say the foot that is on the ground is the pivot foot? what about college?

Adam Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
ok is he considered to be on the floor? why can't i say the foot that is on the ground is the pivot foot? what about college?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rule
and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

Yes.
Pivot foot doesn't matter if any other part of the body besides the hands or feet is touching the floor.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:22pm

NCAA has the same understanding.
 
While the NCAA book does not have a rule which explicitly says so, the interpretation is the same as evidenced by this approved ruling from the casebook.

Traveling
A.R. 103.
Is it traveling when a player:

37
(1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining
a pivot foot; or
(2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball
without maintaining a pivot foot; or
(3) Gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then,
because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or
starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?
RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, because it is virtually impossible not to move the
pivot foot when falling to the playing floor.
(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once
the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over.
When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating.
When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to
touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet
while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while
holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.
(Rule 4-68.6 and 4-68.1)

footlocker Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while
holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.
(Rule 4-68.6 and 4-68.1)


We are not talking about gaining control of a ball and then falling. This is a player that gains control with one knee down and one foot. That foot should be able to be the pivot foot. So if the pivot foot isn't moved (the rule says if the pivot foot moves), why can't he stand?

I'm good with the NFHS rule. It's NCAA i'm having a hard time with.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:57pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Nevadaref
When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. <strike>When a player falls to one knee while
holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.</strike>
(Rule 4-68.6 and 4-68.1)

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
We are not talking about gaining control of a ball and then falling. This is a player that gains control with one knee down and one foot. That foot should be able to be the pivot foot. So if the pivot foot isn't moved (the rule says if the pivot foot moves), why can't he stand?

I'm good with the NFHS rule. It's NCAA i'm having a hard time with.

I know what you are inquiring about. I highlighted the relevant sentence. You quoted an additional one that has nothing to do with the situation. Just take the one sentence above by itself and you have your answer. The NFHS and the NCAA have the same take on this play. It's illegal.

You opinion doesn't matter about what he should be able to do. The NCAA committee says that he can't stand. If he does, it's a travelling violation, period. That's it.

footlocker Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:05am

I'm not trying to inject opinion. If I am, sorry.

My question is: why would I consider A1 to be rising to his feet, when he started with a pivot foot?

just another ref Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
I'm not trying to inject opinion. If I am, sorry.

My question is: why would I consider A1 to be rising to his feet, when he started with a pivot foot?

He started with one knee on the ground and one foot. When he rose to his feet, it was traveling.

blindzebra Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
I'm not trying to inject opinion. If I am, sorry.

My question is: why would I consider A1 to be rising to his feet, when he started with a pivot foot?

If they gain possession on the floor they have no pivot foot.

footlocker Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:26am

b. When one foot is on the playing court:
1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a
step;

A.R. 110. Is it traveling when a player (a) falls to the playing court while holding the ball; or (b) gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet? RULING: In (a), yes, because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor.

this indicates that a player can maintain a pivot while being on the ground. but nothing has explicitly said that this is a travel.

just another ref Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:29am

The part about rising to one's feet makes not mention of a pivot foot. When a player rises to his feet while holding the ball, it is traveling. Period.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
I'm not trying to inject opinion. If I am, sorry.

My question is: why would I consider A1 to be rising to his feet, when he started with a pivot foot?

When you said that the player should be able to do such and such, I took that as your opinion.

What you have to learn is that you must follow the defined concepts when officiating. These definitions form the heart of play calling.

You are mistaken that the player "started with a pivot foot." In fact, he does not have a pivot in this situation because he is by definition deemed to be on the floor since he gained control of the ball while touching the floor with something other than a hand or foot. Blindzebra just wrote this as well.

If you look in the NCAA rulebook for how a pivot is established, you will see that it only pertains to a player who is standing upright on his feet. When a player gains control while on the floor he is governed by a specific ruling. I posted that ruling for you already in this thread. The most important point to take from that is what JAR wrote:
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
He started with one knee on the ground and one foot. When he rose to his feet, it was traveling.


Nevadaref Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
b. When one foot is on the playing court:
1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a
step;

A.R. 110. Is it traveling when a player (a) falls to the playing court while holding the ball; or (b) gains control of the ball while on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet? RULING: In (a), yes, because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor.

this indicates that a player can maintain a pivot while being on the ground. but nothing has explicitly said that this is a travel.

That is if he already had established one. You are missing that point.

footlocker Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That is if he already had established one. You are missing that point.


okay, so then you are saying that if you have already established a pivot foot, you may go down and come up from one knee at will so long as you don't move your pivot. correct?

Johnny Ringo Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:15am

The play in the OP is about a player gaining control of the ball while one knee is already on the ground and one foot ...

How about this situation:

A1 catches a pass ... left foot has been established as the pivot ... for whatever reason, A1 decides to drop to one knee (his right) while left foot remains stationary ... A1 then decides to stand upright again - removing his right knee off the ground ... legal or not?

footlocker Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
When you said that the player should be able to do such and such, I took that as your opinion.

Not debating this. Move on.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
What you have to learn is that you must follow the defined concepts when officiating. These definitions form the heart of play calling.

Thank you. You need to not worry about what you think I have to learn. Your first post stated it best. This is not explicitly covered in the rules.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
The play in the OP is about a player gaining control of the ball while one knee is already on the ground and one foot ...

How about this situation:

A1 catches a pass ... left foot has been established as the pivot ... for whatever reason, A1 decides to drop to one knee (his right) while left foot remains stationary ... A1 then decides to stand upright again - removing his right knee off the ground ... legal or not?

NFHS - Traveling.

blindzebra Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
Not debating this. Move on.



Thank you. You need to not worry about what you think I have to learn. Your first post stated it best. This is not explicitly covered in the rules.

It is explicitly covered.

A player with a knee on the floor is ON THE FLOOR!

The rule explicitly states what a player may and may not do while on the floor.

If you can't understand that simple thing, your striped shirt may be better used working at your user name than on the court.:rolleyes:

Nevadaref Mon Dec 31, 2007 02:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
okay, so then you are saying that if you have already established a pivot foot, you may go down and come up from one knee at will so long as you don't move your pivot. correct?

That is an unfortunate consequence of an NCAA ruling which Mary Struckhoff authored a few years ago. I'm specifically talking about the going to a knee WITHOUT MOVING THE PIVOT. It started out as just applicable in the NCAAW game, but has now been included on the mens side of the written documentation (rulebook and casebook).

Since that time the NCAA has published the above posted A.R. 103 as it is currently numbered. It is my understanding that the directive to the officials on the court is to follow this and call a traveling violation. The key language is the "virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot" part.

So by the strictest theoretical interpretation of the rule, a player could do what you propose without traveling, but in practice the officials have been told to deem this a violation.

I'm sure that there have been other NCAA bulletins on this in the past few years. I'll check with some of the NCAA folks that I know and see what they provide in response.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 31, 2007 06:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by footlocker
This is not explicitly covered in the rules.

How many freaking times does everybody have to post the very explicit freaking NCAA and NFHS rules that cover the freaking play? It's <b>FREAKING</b> traveling!!!!

Lah me........:rolleyes:

bob jenkins Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'm sure that there have been other NCAA bulletins on this in the past few years. I'll check with some of the NCAA folks that I know and see what they provide in response.

The NCAA seems to make a distinction between "falling to the floor" (travel) and "touching the floor with other than a hand or foot" (not a travel -- assuming the pivot foot doesn't move). Both of these situations are travelling in FED.

Rising from the floor, no matter how you got there or what body parts are touching, is travelling in both FED and NCAA.

Johnny Ringo Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Rising from the floor, no matter how you got there or what body parts are touching, is travelling in both FED and NCAA.

Well put...I think that sums it up for all of us high school callers ... of course if you dribble throughout the entire process of going to the floor and coming back up - you are fine.

footlocker Tue Jan 01, 2008 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So by the strictest theoretical interpretation of the rule, a player could do what you propose without traveling, but in practice the officials have been told to deem this a violation.

I'm sure that there have been other NCAA bulletins on this in the past few years. I'll check with some of the NCAA folks that I know and see what they provide in response.

Thanks Nevadaref. We are doing the same thing in my conference. This is a question that came up a couple weeks ago at a NAIA Tournament I was working. The crew going onto the floor brought it up to my crew after we finished our game. My first instinct was traveling, so I got into the NCAA rulebook and casebook 2007 & 2008. After recognizing what you posted I decided to see what this forum could provide. (I think this forum is great for officials to discuss situations and interpretations.)

Other NCAA guys from our conference that work all over D1 upto and including WNBA interpret the rule that a player can go down to a knee and rise so long as the pivot isn't moved. But I wanted to know about starting in that position. It seems that starting in that position would be different than going to one knee. NFHS is easy on this one.

Thanks again and let me know if you come up with anything on your end.

footlocker Tue Jan 01, 2008 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The NCAA seems to make a distinction between "falling to the floor" (travel) and "touching the floor with other than a hand or foot" (not a travel -- assuming the pivot foot doesn't move). Both of these situations are travelling in FED.

Rising from the floor, no matter how you got there or what body parts are touching, is travelling in both FED and NCAA.

Thanks Bob.

I think that is the conclusion that I have come to as well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1