![]() |
B Conference during sub for A1's fifth foul
I think I know the answer to this but am seeking confirmation. A1 commits his fifth foul; table buzzes the horn and notifies the officials it is his fifth foul; officials notify A coach. As soon as he understands it is A1's fifth foul, B coach calls his players to the front of his bench hoping to get a few seconds of conference. But A coach immediately sends in a substitute and doesn't want to take any of the allowed time to make this substitution. Officials tell B coach to have B team come right back on to the court. B coach argues he can take 20-30 seconds to confer with his players. I tell B coach "He [A coach] can take time to substitute but you can't be granted the time if he substitutes immediately." B coach gives me a doubting look and reluctantly sends his players back out. Was this the correct application of the rules?
|
Yes.
|
2003-04 Poe 5d
When the required substitute has reported to the table, the 30-second interval has ended and play shall resume immediately. Therefore, if the substitute reports to the table just after the disqualifying foul is called or reported, there is no 30-second interval necessary or permitted. If the required substitute reports within a few seconds of the 30 seconds permitted, play shall resume immediately. (3-3-1d; 3-3-2)
*Note the interval was reduced to 20 seconds in 2007-08. |
Coach is yanking your chain to see how far he can go.
|
Crafty coach. Don't let him get away with it.
|
I'm lining them up or getting ready to administer the throw-in.....the guy's just trying to get a freebie....not in this game.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57pm. |