The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   charged time-out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40495-charged-time-out.html)

PP Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:41pm

charged time-out
 
Coach Team A calls for and requests time out for official to check the score. IThen, if the score is incorrect is Team A still charged for a time out or not ? Answer: no the coach or team is not charged for a time out. my question is where do I find this rule in the book. (can't seem to find it)

bob jenkins Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:42pm

5-8-4

Mark Padgett Wed Dec 19, 2007 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
5-8-4

Bob - two things. First, I thought for the team not to be charged, the request had to come from the scorer, not the coach. Isn't that how that rule reads?

Second - your reference is for NF. Since PP is in the Great White North, he probably need a response from someone much more FEEBLE than you. ;)

BTW - gotta love a name my two year old grandson can pronounce (and frequently does) - "PP". :)

Stat-Man Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PP
Coach Team A calls for and requests time out for official to check the score. IThen, if the score is incorrect is Team A still charged for a time out or not ? Answer: no the coach or team is not charged for a time out. my question is where do I find this rule in the book. (can't seem to find it)

If a coach waits for a stoppage of play to ask the referees to check if the score is correct, and the score is correct, would the coach be charged with a timeout?

M&M Guy Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man
If a coach waits for a stoppage of play to ask the referees to check if the score is correct, and the score is correct, would the coach be charged with a timeout?

Yes. 5.8.4 Sit.A

Ref_in_Alberta Wed Dec 19, 2007 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Bob - two things. First, I thought for the team not to be charged, the request had to come from the scorer, not the coach. Isn't that how that rule reads?

Second - your reference is for NF. Since PP is in the Great White North, he probably need a response from someone much more FEEBLE than you. ;)

BTW - gotta love a name my two year old grandson can pronounce (and frequently does) - "PP". :)

Actually Ontario is the only province that has not switched to FIBA (yet). They still use NF rules at the high school level.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 19, 2007 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Bob - two things. First, I thought for the team not to be charged, the request had to come from the scorer, not the coach. Isn't that how that rule reads?

I'm not picking that nit.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 19, 2007 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man
If a coach waits for a stoppage of play to ask the referees to check if the score is correct, and the score is correct, would the coach be charged with a timeout?

The official should not check the score without first informing the coach that it will cost him a time-out if he is wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1