The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40474-double-foul.html)

jr Tue Dec 18, 2007 03:23pm

double foul?
 
fed rules...

a1 gets fouled by b1 in the act of shooting...at approximately the same time, but after the whistle for the foul by b1, a2 fouls b2 under the basket in a non-flagrant manner...b2 is not in the bonus...

what do you have?

JugglingReferee Tue Dec 18, 2007 03:31pm

I'll take a stab...

False double. A1 shots 1 (or 2 or 3) with the lane clear. B gets possession for a spot throw-in. If A1 makes the last throw, then B is actually disadvantaged in terms of the throw-in restrictions (spot vs. whole endline), but does gain a team foul to A's total.

Adam Tue Dec 18, 2007 03:42pm

This is going to depend.

If A1's shot wasn't released prior to A2's foul, then the basket will not count even if made. A1 will shoot two free throws (or three if it was behind the arc), B will then get the ball at the spot nearest the foul by A2.

If A1's shot was released prior to the foul, then the basket will count if made and free throws for A1 will be determined accordingly and B will get the ball OOB at the spot nearest the foul by A2: unless….

If A1's try actually ended (such as not really getting the shot off) prior to A2's foul, in which case A2's foul should be ignored as dead-ball contact.

jr Tue Dec 18, 2007 03:46pm

i wasn't there...but i was told that: (in order)

the ball was released
the whistle for the foul on b1
the whistle for the foul on a2
missed attempt

the officials made an incorrect ruling...i'll let you know abou that later...

let's think about this...what if b was in the bonus?

Adam Tue Dec 18, 2007 03:49pm

A1 gets his free throws, then B2 gets his with the players lined up.

Let me guess, they cancelled the free throws and went with the arrow.

Brad Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr
fed rules...

a1 gets fouled by b1 in the act of shooting...at approximately the same time, but after the whistle for the foul by b1, a2 fouls b2 under the basket in a non-flagrant manner...b2 is not in the bonus...

what do you have?

How can this be a double foul?

The whistle for the foul on A1 causes everything after that to be either incidental or a technical. Unless the foul on A2 was intentional, it should be considered incidental contact.

A1 shoots two shots... Contact by B2 is ignored (unless ruled intentional / flagrant -- then it would be a technical foul). Play on.

jr Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:26pm

while i agree this is an error in judgement by the official calling the foul on a2...he still made the call...therefore it should be penalized...

Brad Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr
while i agree this is an error in judgement by the official calling the foul on a2...he still made the call...therefore it should be penalized...

Did the same official make both calls?

kbilla Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad
How can this be a double foul?

The whistle for the foul on A1 causes everything after that to be either incidental or a technical. Unless the foul on A2 was intentional, it should be considered incidental contact.

A1 shoots two shots... Contact by B2 is ignored (unless ruled intentional / flagrant -- then it would be a technical foul). Play on.

The foul committed against A1 does not cause the ball to become dead immediately, if it did then how could you score the goal if A1's shot went in? This is a false double....agree w/ Snaqs/JR on how to handle...

jr Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:32pm

no...2 separate officials...

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad
How can this be a double foul?

The whistle for the foul on A1 causes everything after that to be either incidental or a technical. Unless the foul on A2 was intentional, it should be considered incidental contact.

A1 shoots two shots... Contact by B2 is ignored (unless ruled intentional / flagrant -- then it would be a technical foul). Play on.

Not true. If A1 was in the act of shooting, the ball is not dead on the foul committed on A1. Any contact until the ball becomes dead is called as per the usual criteria.

Contact <b>after</b> the ball has become dead is ignored if not intentional or flagrant.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
I'll take a stab...

False double. A1 shots 1 (or 2 or 3) with the lane clear. B gets possession for a spot throw-in. If A1 makes the last throw, then B is actually disadvantaged in terms of the throw-in restrictions (spot vs. whole endline), but does gain a team foul to A's total.

I think this is close. But,

1) It's a false simultaneous foul, not a false double foul, since the fould were not by opponents against each other.

2) If the last FT is good, B gets to run the baseline; if it's not good, B has a spot throw-in.

3) If B is in the bonus, then B shoots FTs with players lined up on the lane.

Brad Tue Dec 18, 2007 04:54pm

Technically you are right, but calling two fouls here is, in general, horrendous.

Call the first foul -- the second foul has absolutely no effect on the play.

This is where common-sense trumps rules technicalities every day of the week.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 18, 2007 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad
Technically you are right, but calling two fouls here is, in general, horrendous.

Call the first foul -- the second foul has absolutely no effect on the play.

This is where common-sense trumps rules technicalities every day of the week.

Brad, that may be true. But they're discussing what is the right call to make if you actually do have the 2 fouls called. If the second foul <b>is</b> called, then you have no choice but to go with both of them. You can't ignore it.

Brad Tue Dec 18, 2007 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Brad, that may be true. But they're discussing what is the right call to make if you actually do have the 2 fouls called. If the second foul <b>is</b> called, then you have no choice but to go with both of them. You can't ignore it.

If you are asking me personally, I would tell my partner that we are going with the first foul and only that foul.

Not everything in officiating should be handled by technicalities -- and when we do, we normally get ourselves in more trouble than we would by administering a good dose of common sense.

I am starting to remember that there's a reason that I only have a few hundred posts on this board :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1