The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2007, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
entering the court

Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2007, 10:16pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one
Right. Coaches are ultimately responsible for substitutions.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2007, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Right. Coaches are ultimately responsible for substitutions.

Can you cite the ruling? I have a few cold ones on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Can you cite the ruling? I have a few cold ones on this one.
10-1-9; 10-3-3
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 08:52am
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.
As I mentioned other circumstances were in play. It was the right call at the right time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
In a lower level game, if I was getting sloppy and didn't pay attention, I wouldn't be calling a T in this sitch. Actually, even if I wasn't getting sloppy, I wouldn't call the T. Unless you could detrmine it was an intentional act designed by the coach to give them an advantage.
It isn't the state championship game, let it go.
I hate this philosophy. What happens when a team gets to the state championship? Do they then play by a whole different set of rules? Will they be prepared to play by those rules?

The rules are the rules. Just enforce them and move on.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2007, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Did a lower game tonight as favor to assignor and talent level was pretty weak. As a result my partner and I got sloppy. After timeout ball is inbounded and B only has four players on the court( I told you were were sloppy). Play goes on for a 5-10 seconds and the fifth player runs out onto the court.

I called a T on team B. Right or wrong?

Just the ruling please............other circumstances were in play on this one
Right. See Interp #12
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 11, 2007, 01:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Right. See Interp #12
As bob let you know this ruling is in this year's NFHS interpretations which are currently posted on the website. So it should be fairly easy for you to win your bet.

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2007/10/2007...s_interpr.aspx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH - Re-entering question cshs81 Baseball 12 Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:16am
A re-entering starter? BktBallRef Basketball 2 Thu Feb 01, 2007 08:57am
Player not reporting in before entering the game daveg144 Basketball 11 Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:15am
ball entering basket below the rim stewcall Basketball 5 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:58am
Trouble entering thread greymule Baseball 4 Wed Dec 17, 2003 07:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1