The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lead Administers FT while Trail is substituting (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40233-lead-administers-ft-while-trail-substituting.html)

bob jenkins Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
MTD...you I seem to be butting heads. Really not my intention. However if you find that old bulletin in the archived files in the attic....well, just go ahead and throw it out. This should settle it, right out of the NCAA Case Book

Disqualified Player
A.R. 70. A5 is fouled during an unsuccessful try for goal. As A5 goes to the free
throw line, A5 is assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul, which is
A5’s fifth and disqualifying foul. The scorer:
(1) Informs the official that A5 has been disqualified, or
(2) Does not inform the official that A5 has been disqualified and A5
attempts the free throws.
RULING: (1) A Team B player shall attempt the free throws for the technical
foul assessed to A5. Play is resumed at the point of interruption and
the substitute for A5 would then attempt the free throws awarded when A5
was fouled in the act of shooting.
(2) Since A5 and A5’s coach were not notified of the disqualification, the
result of A5’s free throws (following the free throws awarded to Team B for
the technical foul on A5) shall stand.
(Rule 4-20.4, 8-2.2.c, 2-9.4, 4-53.1.e and 2-12.1)

That's great, Gimlet, But it has nothing to do with the OP.

The OP is a FT being administered (in error) during the period between when the officials are notified of the 5th foul and before the player is replaced. IOW, one official is standing near the table waiting for the sub, and the other official lines up the players and administers the FT.

It shouldn't happen, but it does. I know from experience.

Gimlet25id Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's great, Gimlet, But it has nothing to do with the OP.

The OP is a FT being administered (in error) during the period between when the officials are notified of the 5th foul and before the player is replaced. IOW, one official is standing near the table waiting for the sub, and the other official lines up the players and administers the FT.

It shouldn't happen, but it does. I know from experience.

Thanks! I had to go back and read the posts. My bad!! I thought we were talking about a player thats in that shouldn't be. :o

MTD...If you find the bulletin, don't throw it out. I still would like to see it. I've looked and looked on my end.

I can't find anywhere where you would award another throw after the merited throw was given.

Under the correctable error section in the case book it covers official telling the shooter that they have 2 shots but are only entitled to a 1 & 1. Player misses first then they realize the mistake. No do over since the player shot the merited throw.

I've looked through Dead Ball/ Live Ball and can't find anything that says the ball remains dead until the DQ'd player is out.:confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1