![]() |
bad to worse
College. live ball. Defense request TO and is granted. oops. TO not allowed. Sub at table. No sub can't come in. Lets put ball back in play. oops Not sub but the 5th player. Yes only 4 players on court. Well, can't sub in because not allowed a TO. So, ball back in play i.e. Live ball with 4 defensive players. No it gets worse. The 5th player runs on the court during the live ball. T-foul. My thoughts are the 5th player is not a "SUB". No rule says a 5th player can't come in when a mistake for stopping play for this TO request. Is there a rule for this mess?
|
I'm not sure if there is a specific ruling at the college level regarding this issue so this is mostly Fed, but once you've stopped play you have a dead ball situation. Although the defense isn't allowed to call a time out during a live ball situation, once the ball becomes dead either team can call a time out. I think the prevailing thought is since the play has already been killed, the time out request can now be honored. As such subs would be allowed. Even if the time out weren't allowed, any subs that had properly reported should be allowed in during any dead ball period. As far as the 5th player issue goes, he isn't a player until he properly enters the game. As such he remains a sub and can't enter until properly beckoned. The question is how was the ball made live with only 4 on the court in the first place?
|
College Women. I believe there is a difference between Fed and College. As to 4 players on the court. I was told one player left the court and went to the bench.
|
What's Done is Done
Although the defense leagaly can't call a TO, once you grant it you have to award it. Your mistake for acknowledging the TO request, hopefully the other coach understands. In this instance since the TO has to be awarded the 5th player at the table becomes a moot pint as he/she will enter once the TO ends.
|
Quote:
(Good play btw, made me open my book :) ) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=4 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMdBld vAlign=top noWrap>5.8.3 Situation E:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=left colSpan=4>The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now?</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top align=right>Ruling:</TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd align=left colSpan=4>Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.</TD></TR><TR><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=top noWrap> </TD><TD class=nfhsMainFtMd vAlign=center noWrap align=left>[See corresponding Rule Article for Situation 5.8.3]</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE> |
Quote:
|
I thought that was the case. Thought I would post HS in case others were curious too. Sorry.
|
Quote:
About 5-6 years ago my Frosh team had the ball in the front-court (2nd half, so right in front of me). Action is ocurring, I'm standing in my box, closer to table than baseline, mouth shut and arms folded when the lead official blows his whistle and says "Timeout-red." While waiting in stunned silence to find out which of my players unnecessarily called a timeout, imagine my surprise to have the table be told that I called the timeout. When I explained that I had done no such thing, I was told that "someone around my bench" called for it. I pointed out that since I had no assistant coach and only 3 players on the bench and that none of them said it, I didn't want a timeout and would like to just restart the game. The official told me that since "I heard the timeout call from around your bench, you have to take it." I decided there was no point in arguing. Aside from the obvious things that are wrong with how that was handled, I can't imagine that the rule is intended to force a timeout on a team in a situation like that. Thanks for the knowledge! |
Had a sitch once like this not too long ago.....
I was T and the ball was being advanced toward half court against mild pressure (by this I mean the guard was about 7-8 feet away moving backwards to play normal D in the FC)....I happened to take my eyes off the dribbler to check/verify the clock (it was under :20 left and I wanted to get a good mental note of where we were at)...As I did this, I hear TIMEOUT-TIMEOUT...I blew the whistle and it was the guard not the ball handler that said it....I called an inadvertandt whistle and we put the ball back in play with a throw in from HC line... I admit, I should have looked to verify....but the placement of the players really made me think it came from the ball handler...I was probably equidistant from both the guard and the dribbler when I heard it...it really sounded like it came from my right (where the ball handler was at) and not toward my left where the guard was at... Is there a penalty here for what the defense did? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
IN HS, if you blow the whistle, they get the timeout and you tell the other coach "Oops. My bad."
In NCAA, you blow the whistle, say "Oops, my bad." and they do not get the timeout. I know this because I got reamed by a supervisor several years ago for doing it wrong.Don't have my books with me (they're out in the car and it's raining again) so I can't tell you the rule reference, but believe me, I will always remember that one! |
I had the opposite problem last night. Coach in my ear yelling "time out" near the end of the game. I had tuned him out, since he'd been yelling out plays to his players all game. My partner called the TO from across the floor. Coach was not very happy: "didn't you hear me calling for timeout?"
"Uh... [silence] ... sorry coach." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In your situation no need to say anything in response to the coach's question other than, "No." |
Do you think the NFHS will alter this rule anytime soon that requires a player on the floor to be the one to request the TOs?
I absolutely hate when tableside and the coach is behind you calling for this and you have action to watch... :rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Unfortunately, I kicked this in the oppposite direction when I was asked to officiate a 6th grade boys game. We had no refs, so a parent and myself were asked to officiate. I'd given A1 the ball for a throw-in, and my partner is whistling a time out for B. I stopped play and told my partner he couldn't grant a timeout, and restarted play. :( Although, at the next dead ball, I did ask Coach B if he still wanted a timeout. ;) He didn't. |
Freshman game this weekend, coach yells play, "Side out." Official says, "Full or 30?"
|
HaHa that reminds me...
I had a VG Thanksgiving tourney last month. By the strangest of coincidences, b/c of my schedule and the brackets, I managed to have all 4 games one particular team played, plus 4 others during the tourney. So, to the story. 1st game with said team. I'm C in first quarter, near the end. As I come up the court in front of team's bench, I hear coach behind me holler obsessively something that very much appear to be "TIME OUT" I blow the whistle and turn slightly towards the bench. There wasn't any other obvious reason for the whistle, but coach is staring at me with an unspoken "What the h*ll was that?" So, seeing his obvious confussion, I ask "You called TO?" He says no he didn't. Only a few seconds of conversation led me to realize they had a set play named 'FIVE out'. I giggle to myself, suggest changing the name of the play, and resume at POI. Their next couple of games, I catch myslef almost blowing the same whistle, until I manage to block it out. By the end of the tourney, he dang near had to throw something at me to get a TO. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm. |