The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Why is this so confusing (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40086-why-so-confusing.html)

Rita C Tue Dec 04, 2007 02:33pm

Why is this so confusing
 
A1 is throwing the ball in from the endline at As frontcourt. A2 tips the ball and it goes into the backcourt where A2 touches the ball again and it goes out of bounds.

Afterwards one of my partners insisted this was a backcourt violation. This is the second time I've come across this. On the way to a meeting recently we discussed question 93 on the test. I insisted the answer was false and the others were saying it was a backcourt violation. (I had the last laugh on that one.)

I finally found casebook 4.12.6 that supports me. While not specifically the same situation, it does show that a backcourt violation should not be called.

The confusion seems to be in the "new" definition of when a throwin ends. I keep having to show that you can't have backcourt violation till player control has been established.

Just venting.

Rita

bob jenkins Tue Dec 04, 2007 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C
A1 is throwing the ball in from As frontcourt.

It might also help if you show that you can't "throw the ball in from the frontcourt" (or from the backcourt for that matter).

Ref_in_Alberta Tue Dec 04, 2007 02:46pm

Partner is correct.... sort of...
 
If you're playing under FIBA rules, your partner is correct. This is a B/C violation.

Someone else will have to speak to the NF / NCAA rules.

Regardless of B/C or not Team B is still getting the ball O.B. for the next throw in.

jdw3018 Tue Dec 04, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It might also help if you show that you can't "throw the ball in from the frontcourt" (or from the backcourt for that matter).

While true, Bob, it doesn't matter in the OP. What matters is that team control was never established.

The other reason for the confusion in the OP is the entire conversation around the throw-in ending also ending the exception for catching the ball while airborne w/ frontcourt status and landing backcourt.

Rita C Tue Dec 04, 2007 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It might also help if you show that you can't "throw the ball in from the frontcourt" (or from the backcourt for that matter).

I edited it. I neglected to put in that it was from the endline at As frontcourt.

Thanks Bob.

Rita

tjchamp Tue Dec 04, 2007 03:04pm

It matters not where the ball was thrown from. There is no team control during a throw in. You are likely getting confused about throw in ending (due to tip by a or b), then a2 catching the ball while airborne, then lands in the backcourt. In this case, a2 has team control while in the air, then is first to touch in backcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1