The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40035-throw.html)

lmeadski Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:20pm

Throw in ?
 
Team A is throwing the ball in from the FT extended in their backcourt. A1 thows the ball cross-court to A2 who catches the ball in the air and lands with one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds in As frontcourt. The ref cannot tell if one foot landed before the other. Is the OOB violation enforced where A2 straddled the OOB line or from A1s throw-in area? This situation came up last week with a ref in our association. His ruling: Ball OOB for team B at the point where A1 threw the ball in. Our association trainer said it should be where A2 straddled the line. What if A2 caught the ball with one foot in and one foot OOB?

bob jenkins Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:46pm

Doesn't matter how A2 caught the ball. It's an OOB violation, not a throw-in violation. B's ball at the spot where A2 caught the ball, not where A1 throw the ball.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Doesn't matter how A2 caught the ball. It's an OOB violation, not a throw-in violation. B's ball at the spot where A2 caught the ball, not where A1 throw the ball.

Yep, what bob posted is correct. The NFHS moved this provision from 9-2 to 9-3 in the rules book this year. Go check.

Also there is an official 2007-08 interp posted on the website for this play.

SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)

rgncjn Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:08pm

Bob's explanation is right-on!

lmeadski Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:32pm

Nuff said
 
Thank you!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1