The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Setting AP Arrow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40025-setting-ap-arrow.html)

Raida357 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:40pm

Setting AP Arrow
 
Quick question. A1 tips jump ball, B2 catches it. We call the violation, award Team A the ball out of bounds, and then set the AP in favor of Team A (since Team B violated). Was this handled correctly?

Sorry if this has been asked previously. I tried to seach the forums for a similar post, but couldn't find one (although, I'm sure there is one out there).

JRutledge Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raida357
Quick question. A1 tips jump ball, B2 catches it. We call the violation, award Team A the ball out of bounds, and then set the AP in favor of Team A (since Team B violated). Was this handled correctly?

Why did you call a violation? Nothing you described so far is illegal (unless B2 is a jumper, but that is not very clear at this point).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raida357
Sorry if this has been asked previously. I tried to seach the forums for a similar post, but couldn't find one (although, I'm sure there is one out there).

Do not feel bad, there are a lot of questions asked previously that are asked again.

Peace

Raida357 Sun Dec 02, 2007 02:13pm

Sorry, poor discription. B2 was a jumper.

Mark Padgett Sun Dec 02, 2007 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raida357
Sorry, poor discription. B2 was a jumper.

So where was B1? Maybe you had ejected him for dunking twice during warmups. ;)

JRutledge Sun Dec 02, 2007 02:19pm

Usually people use B1 as the other jumper (jumpers A1 and B1), which is why I wanted to be sure.

You have a violation for catching the tip (it does not mean automatically there is a violation, but that is another discussion and do not want to confuse the issue). You establish the arrow by putting the ball in play. So you give the ball to team A for a throw-in and you give the arrow to Team B when you give the ball to the thrower. This would be handled similarly if you called a technical foul on Team B. A few years ago this rule was different but now this is how it is handled.

Peace

Raida357 Sun Dec 02, 2007 05:49pm

Thanks for the help!

rgncjn Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:18pm

I'm still missing something... Why was a violation called?

Nevadaref Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgncjn
I'm still missing something... Why was a violation called?

See 9-6 and 6-3-7c.

rgncjn Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
See 9-6 and 6-3-7c.

Sorry, I misread the original post. The numbering of players threw me off. Of course it is a violation if either jumper catches the ball!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1