![]() |
Ball Enters From Below
Rule 9-4.....or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below. If A1 shoots and B1 gets a pretty good hand on it after it's released and ends up entering from below, who gets the ball after the violation? B1 is the last to touch, but is it a judgment call if the touch caused it to enter from below? I kicked it tonight pretty bad, and want to make sure I get it right in the future, although I can't say I've seen the ball enter from below too many times.
|
Ok, so your situation is:
1. A1 throws the ball. 2. B1 deflects the ball. 3. Ball passes through the basket from below. Compare that to: 1. A1 throws the ball. 2. B1 deflects the ball. 3. Ball lands out of bounds. In the second situation, who caused the ball to be out of bounds? Who will get the ball as a result? The same principles apply to the first situation. |
Makes perfect sense. 7-2 specifically defines causing whereas 9-4 does not. I had trouble recalling the location of the ball entering from below and initially scoured Rule 7. What is the rationale of putting the rule with 9-4- Travel, kick, fist? I guess I'm just missing something.
|
Quote:
|
It's in rule 9 because it's a violation.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29am. |