Traveling Call confusion
It seems that there is confusion from state to state and from ref to ref on this. Here goes ! When you stop your dribble with the ball and establish a pivot foot (lets say right). Can you then take an additional step off your left foot by lifting your pivot foot and either pass or shoot the ball before the pivot foot comes down?
I think that the only time you can lift the pivot foot off the ground is if you jump off it to pass or shoot.
The rulebook says that once you lift a pivot foot, as long as the the ball is released before the pivot foot returns to the floor, it is ok. That means to some that you can take a step on the other foot. It leaves it to interpretation which some refs call one way and others call it another.
I would like to know the truth as I think it is an unfair move to be able to take another step once a pivot foot is established.
Thanks
|