The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS 10-1-5 a & b situations (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39791-nfhs-10-1-5-b-situations.html)

sixer Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:38pm

NFHS 10-1-5 a & b situations
 
Help me figure out the situations when we would apply 10-1-5a vs b after an intermission.

My initial thought would be 10-1-5a would apply if the team not entitled to the AP consumes a minute not being ready to play.

And in 10-1-5b, we'd use Resumption of play if the AP team was not ready. So, say A violates, B gets throw-in, A still not ready, then we apply 10-1-5a?

Do I have it?

Nevadaref Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sixer
Help me figure out the situations when we would apply 10-1-5a vs b after an intermission.

My initial thought would be 10-1-5a would apply if the team not entitled to the AP consumes a minute not being ready to play.

And in 10-1-5b, we'd use Resumption of play if the AP team was not ready. So, say A violates, B gets throw-in, A still not ready, then we apply 10-1-5a?

Do I have it?

10-1-5a applies equally to both teams. It doesn't matter if they have the AP arrow or not. If they fail to return to the court for one full minute after the intermission ending horn sounds, by rule it is team technical foul.

10.1.9 SITUATION: ... COMMENT: The resumption-of-play procedure is in effect to start the second half unless either team is not on the court. In that case regular delay provisions are in force.

An example of a 10-1-5b team techincal foul would be if two players from Team B fail to fill the lane spaces nearest the basket for A1's FT and the RPP is not in effect (The situation does not follow a time-out or intermission.)

10.1.5 SITUATION C: The calling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required. RULING: In (a), if the huddle delays the officials' administration, Team B is warned. The warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)

sixer Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:06am

Yeah, I'm specifically looking for the application following an intermission.

Your 10-1-9 comment is the most specific answer I'm looking for, thank you.

Which year is that from? I can't find it in 07-08. Of course, why wouldn't I think to look for a case for 10-1-5 in 10-1-9? Silly me.

Nevadaref Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sixer
Yeah, I'm specifically looking for the application following an intermission.

If both teams have returned from their lockerrooms even if one or both are over at their bench area, then you would use this method:
7.5.1 SITUATION: The administering official has reached a five-second throw-in count on Team A after placing the ball on the floor when A was not ready to resume play following a time-out. What happens next? RULING: The violation is administered and the ball is made available to Team B for a throw-in, at the same spot. If a Team B player is not in position, the same procedure is followed. If both teams have violated, a technical foul will be assessed for any further delay by either team. Team A must now have a thrower available, plus all other players on the court and Team B must be on the court ready to play also. If either or both teams are not in compliance immediately, a technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Each different time a team has delayed returning to the court after a time-out or between quarters, the resumption-of-play procedure should be used. However, if a team refuses to play after technical fouls have been assessed, the game may be forfeited. (5-4-1)

This procedure is also outlined in 7-5-1 of the rules book.

Quote:

Originally Posted by sixer
Your 10-1-9 comment is the most specific answer I'm looking for, thank you.

Which year is that from? I can't find it in 07-08. Of course, why wouldn't I think to look for a case for 10-1-5 in 10-1-9? Silly me.

You are right! I did a cut and paste from the 06-07 book. I hadn't noticed that the comment was dropped in this year's version without any indication by the NFHS. :(
I also agree with you that this comment would be better placed in another case play that was more specific to the start of the second half. However, we do know that the rule hasn't changed as those words still appear in 4-38.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1