The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   This should be easy but it will settle an argument with fellow fan (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39560-should-easy-but-will-settle-argument-fellow-fan.html)

Husker John Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:50pm

This should be easy but it will settle an argument with fellow fan
 
Player A dribbles the ball towards half court. The Ball and maybe he right foot cross center court and into the fore court. He keeps his dribble until all points (both feet and the ball are in the back court). What is the ruling if the foot went into the front court? What if it had not?

JRutledge Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Husker John
Player A dribbles the ball towards half court. The Ball and maybe he right foot cross center court and into the fore court. He keeps his dribble until all points (both feet and the ball are in the back court).

What is the ruling if the foot went into the front court?

Based on the question, nothing would happen. By rule the dribbler is not considered to have gain front court status until all 3 points have crossed the FC.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Husker John
What if it had not?

He would still be in the back court.

Peace

JugglingReferee Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Husker John
Player A dribbles the ball towards half court. The Ball and maybe he right foot cross center court and into the fore court. He keeps his dribble until all points (both feet and the ball are in the back court). What is the ruling if the foot went into the front court? What if it had not?

I'm not 100% clear about what you're asking, but I will try anyways...

It sounds like from the red text that the left foot in still in the backcourt (BC).

If that is true, then the ball still has BC status while in this player's possession.

In the blue text, I am reading that the player retreats to the BC again. If my reading is true, then there is no call for an over-and-back violation, however, the official should continue the 10-second count.

In the purple text, I read that the foot is the left foot and if it went to the FC, then A went back to the BC, we have a violation.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Husker John
Player A dribbles the ball towards half court. The Ball and maybe he right foot cross center court and into the fore court. He keeps his dribble until all points (both feet and the ball are in the back court). What is the ruling if the foot went into the front court? What if it had not?

When dribbling from BC to FC, the player and ball have BC status until both feet and the ball are in the FC.

FrankHtown Tue Nov 13, 2007 08:50am

Sounds like he put the right foot in, then took the right foot out...did he shake it all about??

jdw3018 Tue Nov 13, 2007 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Sounds like he put the right foot in, then took the right foot out...did he shake it all about??

This is critical to the question, along with whether he turned himself around, because that's what it's all about.

Mark Padgett Tue Nov 13, 2007 04:24pm

What if the hokey pokey is what it's all about!!! :eek:

http://www.offthemarkcartoons.com/ca...1997-05-02.gif

26 Year Gap Tue Nov 13, 2007 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
What if the hokey pokey is what it's all about!!! :eek:

http://www.offthemarkcartoons.com/ca...1997-05-02.gif

Can imagine how millipedes would feel.

Mark Padgett Tue Nov 13, 2007 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Can imagine how millipedes would feel.

I knew a Milly Peade once. She used to go out with this Irish guy, Paddy O'Furniture. :rolleyes:

26 Year Gap Tue Nov 13, 2007 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I knew a Milly Peade once. She used to go out with this Irish guy, Paddy O'Furniture. :rolleyes:

The one with the ear and the wig?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1