The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A little help (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39429-little-help.html)

Ch1town Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:01pm

A little help
 
Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful FG attempt A2 shoves B2. I got the foul (dead ball) and some lip service from Team A… Whack!
As I’m attempting to report the fouls, B2 requests time out (20 minute running halves, clock is still running) the request is not granted right away so B2 fusses, cusses & swears about us needing to hurry the *&%$ process along. My partner gets this one… Whack!

Question: Is this a false double technical foul situation?

Result:
Team B shot 2 for A2’s T
Team A shot 2 for B2’s T



Question: Who inbounds?

Result:
My partner & I disagreed but I let the vet lead & he said we will go to the arrow which was pointing to B.
I thought A should’ve gotten the ball at the division line opposite the table as 10-3-7.


Answers to the 2 QUESTIONS with rules support would be greatly appreciated.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful attempt A2 shoves B2. I got the foul (dead ball) and some lip service from Team A… Whack!
As I’m attempting to report the fouls, B2 requests time out (20 minute running halves, clock is still running) the request is not granted right away so B2 fusses, cusses & swears about us needing to hurry the *&%$ process along. My partner gets this one… Whack!

Question: Is this a false double technical foul situation?

Result:
Team B shot 2 for A2’s T
Team A shot 2 for B2’s T



Question: Who inbounds?

Result:
My partner & I disagreed but I let the vet lead & he said we will go to the arrow which was pointing to B.
I thought A should’ve gotten the ball at the division line opposite the table as 10-3-7.


Answers to the 2 QUESTIONS with rules support would be greatly appreciated.

Yes, it's a FDT.

Yes, administer in order.

The inbounds depends on what rules set you are using. FED, A gets the ball (as part of the penalty for the last foul). NCAA, resume at POI -- a throw-in for B as a result of A2's personal foul.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Last night mens wreck game <font color = red>prior</font> to the one and one, on A1’s <font color = red>unsuccessful attempt</font> A2 shoves B2. I got the foul <font color = red>(dead ball)</font> and some lip service from Team A… Whack!
As I’m attempting to report the fouls, B2 requests time out (20 minute running halves, clock is still running) the request is not granted right away so B2 fusses, cusses & swears about us needing to hurry the *&%$ process along. My partner gets this one… Whack!

Question: Is this a false double technical foul situation?

Result:
Team B shot 2 for A2’s T
Team A shot 2 for B2’s T



Question: Who inbounds?

Result:
My partner & I disagreed but I let the vet lead & he said we will go to the arrow which was pointing to B.
I thought A should’ve gotten the ball at the division line opposite the table as 10-3-7.


Answers to the 2 QUESTIONS with rules support would be greatly appreciated.

Need a little more info......

1) If the foul was prior to the 1/1, was it before FT shooter A1 got the ball? Or was it after A1 got the ball?
2) If after, was A1 holding the ball when A2 fouled? Or was the FT in the air when A2 fouled?

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:19pm

False double, not a double.
Give A the ball after they shoot their Ts.

Ch1town Wed Nov 07, 2007 01:49pm

Hey thanks guys!

That's what I thought, yes FED rules were in effect. But when your partner has been officiating since before you were born... what can ya do but humble yourself & be submissive to their leadership.

No biggie though, I just wanna make sure I know how to handle the situation correctly when it comes up again.

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 07, 2007 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
But when your partner has been officiating since before you were born.

That would be impossible in my case. There was no basketball before I was born. :o

RookieDude Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Need a little more info......

1) If the foul was prior to the 1/1, was it before FT shooter A1 got the ball? Or was it after A1 got the ball?
2) If after, was A1 holding the ball when A2 fouled? Or was the FT in the air when A2 fouled?

JR...I was thinking along the lines of you...untill I read his post a couple of times. I believe the poster was just mentioning everything that happened was before the bonus. Not really relevant...just extra information.

Ch1town Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude
JR...I was thinking along the lines of you...untill I read his post a couple of times. I believe the poster was just mentioning everything that happened was before the bonus. Not really relevant...just extra information.

JR & RookieDude, I went back & read it again myself :eek: I made the neccessary edit, my bad.

Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful FG attempt A2 shoves B2.



Boy do I need to start articulating exactly what I mean before Nov 29th creeps up on me!

kbilla Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
JR & RookieDude, I went back & read it again myself :eek: I made the neccessary edit, my bad.

Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful FG attempt A2 shoves B2.



Boy do I need to start articulating exactly what I mean before Nov 29th creeps up on me!

While we are on the subject of obscure foul calls, anyone ever called a false multiple foul? What was the scenario?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
While we are on the subject of obscure foul calls, anyone ever called a false multiple foul? What was the scenario?

Yeah, it happens quite frequently. In fact, there was one in the OP. The personal foul by A2 and the technical foul by any member of Team A for complaining after this foul constitute a false multiple foul since the clock had not yet started again following the first foul.

mbyron Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
There was no basketball before I was born. :o

Coincidence? I don't think so.

kbilla Wed Nov 07, 2007 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yeah, it happens quite frequently. In fact, there was one in the OP. The personal foul by A2 and the technical foul by any member of Team A for complaining after this foul constitute a false multiple foul since the clock had not yet started again following the first foul.

I actually meant to say "anyone ever called a multiple foul", I had "false" on the brain from the prior posts...

RookieDude Wed Nov 07, 2007 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
I actually meant to say "anyone ever called a multiple foul", I had "false" on the brain from the prior posts...

Nope...I've never, ever seen one. ;)

kbilla Wed Nov 07, 2007 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude
Nope...I've never, ever seen one. ;)

Me neither;) ;)

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 05:00pm

I have actually been in the gym and witnessed multiple foul called. I posted about it on this forum about four years ago. Someone can probably find it with the search function.

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2007 05:02pm

I've seen a bunch committed, but never seen one called.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 07, 2007 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful FG attempt A2 shoves B2. I got the foul (dead ball)

Result:
Team B shot 2 for A2’s T

That's what had me confused. Where do you get a dead ball on a <b>missed</b> field goal attempt?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:02pm

JR, I believe that he is saying that the foul by A2 made the ball dead, not that the ball was already dead when the foul was committed.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
JR, I believe that he is saying that the foul by A2 made the ball dead, not that the ball was already dead when the foul was committed.

Cool. Now somebody 'splain to me that if the foul was for A2 shoving B2, and that foul by A2 <b>made</b> the ball <b>dead</b>, then how can that foul can be a <b>technical</b> foul?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Cool. Now somebody 'splain to me that if the foul was for A2 shoving B2, and that foul by A2 made the ball dead, then how can that foul can be a technical foul?

It wasn't. It was just a personal foul. The first technical foul came from this: "and some lip service from Team A… Whack!"

;)

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Last night mens wreck game prior to the one and one, on A1’s unsuccessful FG attempt A2 shoves B2. I got the foul (dead ball) and some lip service from Team A… Whack!


Result:
Team B shot 2 for A2’s T
Team A shot 2 for B2’s T



Nevada, are you saying that A2 got a personal foul <b>and</b> a T? If so, where in the "Result" is B2's FT's for A2's personal foul?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Nevada, are you saying that A2 got a personal foul <b>and</b> a T? If so, where in the "Result" is B2's FT's for A2's personal foul?

There are not FTs for A2's personal foul because the personal foul happened before teh bonus was in effect.

Jeez Jr -- you seem to be chanelling VI on this thread (I mean, on this tread).

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2007 06:44pm

Stupid keyboard.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 07, 2007 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Need a little more info......

1) If the foul was prior to the 1/1, was it before FT shooter A1 got the ball? Or was it after A1 got the ball?
2) If after, was A1 holding the ball when A2 fouled? Or was the FT in the air when A2 fouled?

The way I read it, he wasn't suggesting that there was a FT being shot...just that there were less than 7 team fouls.
  1. A1 releasted a try for FG.
  2. A2 fouls B2 and FG misses (irrelavant).
    • Since the bonus is not in effect, no FTs.
  3. During the dead ball, there is a T on A2
    • 2 FT's due to B.
  4. Then T on B.
    • 2 FT's due to A
  5. A's ball for a division line throwin.
The only time fouls offset is if they are at the same time....A2 and B2 commit their T's simultaneously. If there is any seperation in time (not game time, but real time) they are penalized indivudually and in order.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2007 07:04pm

That's the way that I understand the situation, Camron. Unfortunately, the OP didn't make it crystal clear in his first post. That confused JR who seems to be having a tough day. :D

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 07, 2007 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
There are no FTs for A2's personal foul because the personal foul happened before the bonus was in effect.

Jeez Jr -- you seem to be channeling VI on this thread (I mean, on this tread).

Well, geeze, why didn't you say that in the first place.:rolleyes:

Never mind.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1