![]() |
Double foul during try for goal
Question #4: The alternating possession procedure is used when a double personal foul is called while A1's unsuccessful try is in flight.
Okay. Rule 6-4-3g states: Quote:
If not, what am I missing, because I can't find anywhere the provision for what happens if this situation does involve a goal. Thanks. |
Under FIBA rules, the ball is returned to the team in control at the time of the foul. However, because the ball was shot, team control had ended. In such a situation, the ball is given to the team whose direction the arrow is pointing.
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Cleefy |
If during A's successful try for goal, a double foul is called. Then it will be Team's B ball for throw-in. No AP is used.
|
Quote:
Gracias. |
Quote:
4.19.8 SITUATION E: A1 has control of the ball in Team A's frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-3b) |
Quote:
Bested once again by Nevadaref! It's so late, I didn't think to look in the case book. Many thanks, NV! |
Quote:
10.4 The ball does not become dead and the goal counts if made when the ball is in flight on a shot for a field goal and an official blows his whistle or the game clock signal sounds for the end of the period or the twenty-four second device signal sounds.So, in such a situation there are two possibilities: if the basket is scored, the non scoring team has a (non spot) throw in from the baseline; otherwise the play is resumed with the AP procedure. Ciao |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47pm. |