![]() |
Quote:
What if B2 is the last to touch in bounds, and instead of the ball landing out of bounds, it is caught by A1 out of bounds before the ball ever bounces out of bounds? A1 caused the violation, No? Granted, it's comparing granny smiths with macintosh, but in my little brain they're still apples. |
Okay, now consider this play.
A1 dribbling from BC to front court. While he's still standing in the BC, B1 reaches and swats the ball (now ending the dribble and the accompanying "three points" requirement thus giving the ball FC status while still maintaining Team A control) into the air behind A1. B1 is standing completely in the FC. A1 steps back and catches the ball before it hits the floor. By your interp, this is a violation. |
Quote:
A's touch in the backcourt gives the ball backcourt status simultaneous with the touch. Agree? Now, consider this part of the rule: "touched...the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt". Who was the last person to touch it BEFORE it went to the backcourt? B2. Basically, you draw a line in time at the very instant the ball gains BC status. If the last player to touch the ball before that point in time was team A and the first player after that point in time was team A, you have a violation. (Assuming team control). Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Team has control. Ball gains FC status. |
Quote:
Look, I'll agree that there's a gray area around the "last to touch or be touched in the frontcourt" and that part could be construed as missing from the requirements needed to call a BC violation. But, I can't bring myself to say that B2 caused the ball to go in the BC, may have helped it along but the ball still had FC status when A2 caught the ball. |
Quote:
|
And in Snaqs play Team A has team control and the ball has FC status after B2 batted it up into the air. So by the new interp, it is a BC violation when A2 catches the ball without letting it bounce.
PS kbilla this is NOT an interrupted dribble. The dribble has ended when B2 knocked the ball away. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Notice, there's no "and" in the rule. |
Quote:
I've already stated that I believe that the new interp is poor and does not mesh with the text of the rule. My point is that you are trying to have it both ways. You wish to call one play by the text of the rule and another according to the new interp. That doesn't work. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am. |