The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out after made basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39232-time-out-after-made-basket.html)

Idaho Mon Oct 29, 2007 07:39pm

Time out after made basket
 
I can't find rule support that says that when team A calls a timeout after it has made a basket (and before ball is at the disposal of the team B), team B is able to run the endline on the ensuing throw in.

Also, I'm having similar trouble on the rule reference for if Team B calls a timeout during their throw-in in which they can run the endline, on the ensuing throw-in is it a designated spot throw-in, or can they run the endline again? It clarifies for a foul or violation on the defense, but doesn't clarify for offensive situations.

Thanks.

Nevadaref Mon Oct 29, 2007 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Idaho
I can't find rule support that says that when team A calls a timeout after it has made a basket (and before ball is at the disposal of the team B), team B is able to run the endline on the ensuing throw in.

6.5 SITUATION: What is the procedure for putting the ball in play after: (a) a violation; (b) a charged time-out; (c) a substitution; (d) an official's time-out; (e) a successful field goal or free throw; (f) a score followed immediately by a time-out; or (g) after a common foul before the bonus rule applies. RULING: In (a), (b), (c), (d) and (g), the official shall hand or bounce (as applicable by NFHS Officials Manual) the ball to the player at the spot designated for the throw-in. In (e), the ball may be thrown in anywhere along the end line. The official shall not handle the ball unless in doing so it will prevent a delay. In (f), the official shall hand or bounce (as applicable by NFHS Officials Manual) the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in, after which the throw-in may be made anywhere along the end line. (7-5-7; 8-5)

Also, I'm having similar trouble on the rule reference for if Team B calls a timeout during their throw-in in which they can run the endline, on the ensuing throw-in is it a designated spot throw-in, or can they run the endline again? It clarifies for a foul or violation on the defense, but doesn't clarify for offensive situations.

7.5.7 SITUATION C: Team B has scored a field goal and A1 has the ball along the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 inbounds near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the division line; (c) B1 fouls A2 beyond the division line; or (d) A2 requests a time-out. RULING: In (a) and (d), Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds along the end line following the foul reporting and the time-out. In (b) and (c), the ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

Thanks

You're welcome. ;)

Idaho Mon Oct 29, 2007 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You're welcome. ;)

Sweet. Thanks, man.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1