The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   another off the wall study guide question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39222-another-off-wall-study-guide-question.html)

just another ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:31pm

another off the wall study guide question
 
A1 receives a pass standing still with both feet on the floor. He places the ball on the floor and releases it simultaneously with both hands. (WHY???)

He then picks the ball up and starts a dribble. Ruling: Legal play.

uh.....true?........maybe......weird.....definitel y

M&M Guy Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
(WHY???)

To tie his shoe?

Ch1town Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:40pm

4-15-3

Splute Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
A1 receives a pass standing still with both feet on the floor. He places the ball on the floor and releases it simultaneously with both hands. (WHY???)

He then picks the ball up and starts a dribble. Ruling: Legal play.

uh.....true?........maybe......weird.....definitel y

I agree - legal, but I have to break it down. See if this logic works:
Caught a pass; (no pivot foot yet, thinking in my head).
Touches ball to the floor - legal
releases ball while touching floor; both hands simultaneously... okay, does not meet the definition of starting a dribble. (i agree WHY??? tied his shoe?)
Picks up the ball and starts a dribble- if there has been no dribble; seems legal

just another ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
4-15-3


The ball was placed on the floor. This, to me, would not be the same as
"......pushing, throwing, or batting the ball to the floor...."

Dan_ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
To tie his shoe?

Let's change it a bit...A1 catches the ball with both feet off the floor. He places the ball on the floor as in the OP, ties his shoe then lands on both feet.

Can he now pick up the ball & dribble?

just another ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Let's change it a bit...A1 catches the ball with both feet off the floor. He places the ball on the floor as in the OP, ties his shoe then lands on both feet.

Can he now pick up the ball & dribble?


He doesn't need to dribble. He's Superman.

Rufus Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:49pm

I think the interpretation of the player placing the ball on the ground and letting go is that of an interupted dribble (4-15-5) but I'm not sure it meets the criteria (i.e., deflecting off the dribbler (he placed it there) or getting away from the dribbler (again - it didn't get away, he placed it there)). If it is an interupted dribble they can pick it up and dribble after it as stated in the case.

Ch1town Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The ball was placed on the floor. This, to me, would not be the same as
"......pushing, throwing, or batting the ball to the floor...."

I thought you were asking a question so I just gave you a rule to help you answer your own question.

But I guess I should've worded it this way:

He then picks the ball up and starts a dribble. Ruling: Legal play.

4-15-3 contains the answer to why the play is legal.

just another ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
I think the interpretation of the player placing the ball on the ground and letting go is that of an interupted dribble (4-15-5) but I'm not sure it meets the criteria (i.e., deflecting off the dribbler (he placed it there) or getting away from the dribbler (again - it didn't get away, he placed it there). If it is an interupted dribble they can pick it up and dribble after it as stated in the case.

If it is an interrupted dribble, he cannot pick it up and dribble.

Dan_ref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
He doesn't need to dribble. He's Superman.

I was thinking his last job was as an extra in Crouching Tiger but Superman works

:p

Rufus Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
If it is an interrupted dribble, he cannot pick it up and dribble.

I'm confused then (granted, not an unusual occurance). 4-12-1 states that there is "no player control ... during an interupted dribble." 4-15-5 says essentially the same thing. If there was player control, then none, how come they cannot pick it up?

M&M Guy Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Let's change it a bit...A1 catches the ball with both feet off the floor. He places the ball on the floor as in the OP, ties his shoe then lands on both feet.

Can he now pick up the ball & dribble?

Damned if I know - I'd be too busy picking my jaw up off the floor first.

My guess is he can, because of 4-15(NOTES)3.

Scrapper1 Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
If there was player control, then none, how come they cannot pick it up?

He can pick it up. A player can always recover his/her own fumble. However, if that player has already dribbled, he/she may not dribble again.

Rufus Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
He can pick it up. A player can always recover his/her own fumble. However, if that player has already dribbled, he/she may not dribble again.

So the rule to support that would be 9-5-3 because it hasn't touched another player?

How does that fit with the result of the original case presented?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1