The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   07-08 Test Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39221-07-08-test-question.html)

flaref0812 Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:57pm

07-08 Test Question
 
One of the questions is "An official may determine whether a player must be removed from the game based on the amount of blood on the uniform. My answer is TRUE and the answer key says FALSE, citing 3-3-6. Reviewing 3-3-6, it doesn't specify whether it's an official or referee. What part of the question am I missing. Thank you

Scrapper1 Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:06pm

I think it's false because last year there was a rule change that said the uniform must be changed if there was any blood at all on it. The official is not allowed to exercise judgment on this, as we were in the past. It used to be that the uniform had to be changed if it was "saturated" with blood. Last year, that was changed.

Ch1town Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by flaref0812
One of the questions is "An official may determine whether a player must be removed from the game based on the amount of blood on the uniform. My answer is TRUE and the answer key says FALSE, citing 3-3-6. Reviewing 3-3-6, it doesn't specify whether it's an official or referee. What part of the question am I missing. Thank you

"any amount of blood"

Vinski Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:06pm

I believe it is considered false because the rules don't consider "an amount" of blood. Just any blood at all.

3-3-6

ART. 6 . . . A player who is bleeding, has an open wound, has any amount of blood on his/her uniform, or has blood on his/her person, shall be directed to leave the game until the situation is corrected, unless a time-out is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out.

Indianaref Mon Oct 29, 2007 01:10pm

"Any amount of blood" is the key here.

flaref0812 Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:07pm

07-08 Test Question
 
I agree with the blood on the uniform. The question is "an official" but there is noting in rule 3-3-6 stating which official (R and /or U1/U2). Tha'ts my question.

Scrapper1 Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by flaref0812
I agree with the blood on the uniform. The question is "an official" but there is noting in rule 3-3-6 stating which official (R and /or U1/U2). Tha'ts my question.

I'm not sure why that's your question. Any official may direct a bleeding player or a player with blood on the uniform to the bench.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by flaref0812
I agree with the blood on the uniform. The question is "an official" but there is noting in rule 3-3-6 stating which official (R and /or U1/U2). Tha'ts my question.

If that's your question, then you are correct -- any official must direct the player to leave.

That's not what the test question is about, though.

Ch1town Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by flaref0812
I agree with the blood on the uniform. The question is "an official" but there is noting in rule 3-3-6 stating which official (R and /or U1/U2). Tha'ts my question.

The "official" part of the question is the part that is trying to get your mind off of the "based on the amount of blood" part of the question.

You did type the following in your OP?
What part of the question am I missing. Thank you

TRICK or TREAT!

Adam Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:26pm

The key is "may determine...." That implies a choice when there is no choice/judgment allowed.

flaref0812 Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:31pm

Thanks for the information. I got hung up on "may determine".

Bearfanmike20 Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:44pm

This is what upsets me about these test... they word them sooooo poorly that you get confusion... :(

Nevadaref Mon Oct 29, 2007 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I think it's false because last year there was a rule change that said the uniform must be changed if there was any blood at all on it. The official is not allowed to exercise judgment on this, as we were in the past. It used to be that the uniform had to be changed if it was <strike>"saturated" with blood</strike> excessive. Last year, that was changed.

Nope, Scrapper, that is the wording that is used in the NCAA book. The NFHS rules used to say excessive. ;)

But everything else that you stated is correct. :)

Camron Rust Mon Oct 29, 2007 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
This is what upsets me about these test... they word them sooooo poorly that you get confusion... :(

Sorry, I just don't see that as the case on this one. Regardless of who does it, the rest of the statement is false so the answer is false.

Scrapper1 Mon Oct 29, 2007 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Nope, Scrapper, that is the wording that is used in the NCAA book. The NFHS rules used to say excessive. ;)

Well, in my own defense, if the shirt was saturated, I would say that it was also excessive. :o

I hate when I get stuff mixed up like that. Good catch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1